Solo opportunities

Comments about LibriVox? Suggestions to improve things? News?
dustman33

Post by dustman33 »

I am a recent newbie to Librivox narration and I am enjoying the experience immensely. However I would really appreciate seeing solo reading opportunities posted in the forum the same way that collaborative projects are.

Although solo book suggestions are available some of us don’t have the wherewithal to sift through the myriad books in the Gutenberg library for projects.

I know there are many out there with far more knowledge of the literary world than I who could come up with some great ideas and get more interesting solo projects started.

Howard Skyman
Availle
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by Availle »

There is a whole forum filled with book suggestions that may be read solo or group or dramatic... It's roughly 3000 topics, many of which come with more than one book to choose from:

viewforum.php?f=1

As for finding stuff that's "important" or "worthwhile" or whatever classification you'd want to give it to add to our catalog, well... Our mission is "To record all books in the public domain..." - so if it's important/worthwhile for you, that's perfectly fine with us.
Cheers, Ava.
Resident witch of LibriVox, channelling
Granny Weatherwax: "I ain't Nice."

--
AvailleAudio.com
TriciaG
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by TriciaG »

I was going to pull suggestions I've made in Book Suggestions, but there are so many good ones, I don't know what to choose. Ha ha!

Here are the suggestions I've posted:
search.php?st=0&sk=t&sd=d&sr=posts&author=triciag&fid%5B%5D=1&sf=firstpost

I usually do try to say whether it'd be a good first solo, or how long the book will be. Maybe start here and see if anything piques your interest. ;)
School fiction: David Blaize
America Exploration: The First Four Voyages of Amerigo Vespucci
Serial novel: The Wandering Jew
Medieval England meets Civil War Americans: Centuries Apart
Penumbra

Post by Penumbra »