Another Introduction

Get to know your fellow readers and tell us a little about yourself
AdrianR

Post by AdrianR »

Hello All
It was suggested that I introduce myself - so, I am a 47 year old, male, teacher of English Lit - currently based in Mexico but British by birth. I originally trained as an actor (many years ago) before switching to something more lucrative, then for something I enjoy (teaching).

I have been an editor on Wikipedia since 2005 and contribute daily to many fora (often under a pseudonym, however) - my internet involvement dates back to 1996 and I have, in the past, kept several long blogs (one spanning 7 years about my experience here in Mexico) and maintain my own website about vintage British radios.

Looking forward to helping here!
Samanem

Post by Samanem »

Welcome Adrian! Thanks for joining! Lots on interesting things going on for you! There are many varied ways you can volunteer here, in addition to reading, if you are so inclined. These include proof-listening (checking for errors - very important!), making cd covers, converting files into iTunes-ready audiobooks (m4b's), etc.

If you'd like to try Proof-Listening, here's a link to the Guide for Proof-Listeners: Guide for Proof-Listeners

As far as recording goes, the files we make do have to be in a certain format: mp3, mono, 44,100Hz, 16-bit, 128kbps and usually louder than most people think! Here's the Newbie Guide to Recording which you may not need, but I'll link it anyway: Newbie Guide to Recording.