How big is YOUR studio?

Everything except LibriVox (yes, this is where knitting gets discussed. Now includes non-LV Volunteers Wanted projects)
Grevicci

Post by Grevicci »

I'm just a newbie but I do know that I had to find a more secluded area in my house to become my studio-who would've ever thought that I'd have a "studio?" In order to find that peace & quiet from the sounds of sirens, zooming vehicles breaking the sound barrier down the street, scammy phone calls and many more whatnots, I ended up in my basement, to the room on the end, and smack dab into the closet! This 7 ft by almost 5 ft area will house my recording equipment as well as a lot of hanging clothes. Perhaps fortuitous having all of the clothes in order to dampen any echoes that I'm sure that I would have to deal with if it was an empty closet :)
Just curious to learn what area you might have as your "studio" and any tips on how to make it a darn good one no matter the size?
TriciaG
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by TriciaG »

I use my living room, sitting on my recliner. :lol: I basically have no sound dampening. If a loud car goes by, I typically notice and repeat the sentence/phrase. And I don't have children or pets to interrupt me. :)
School fiction: David Blaize
America Exploration: The First Four Voyages of Amerigo Vespucci
Serial novel: The Wandering Jew
Medieval England meets Civil War Americans: Centuries Apart
lightcrystal

Post by lightcrystal »

II am beyond these measurement units! I invented my own measurement system called the wingspan. First, let's define one wingspan. If you stretch your arms each side to the furthest, that's one wingspan. My studio:

length: approx 3 wingspans.
width: approx 2 wingspans.
height: even if jumping is allowed it's one and a bit wingspans.

Note: I am 5 foot eight in height. For you wingspan may vary.

It's my studio! I'm gonna measure it how I want to!
Fan of all 80s pop music except Meatloaf.
mightyfelix
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by mightyfelix »