Dutch professional audiobook editor wanting to utilize his bilinguality!

Get to know your fellow readers and tell us a little about yourself
LaurensDG

Post by LaurensDG »

Hi!

My name is Laurens. I am a Dutch conservatory graduate and manage my own company by editing, postprocessing and labeling audiobooks.
I would like to expand my horizon and diversify my portfolio by processing audiobooks in languages I consider myself a (at the least reasonably well) speaker of.
It feels like a waste not to utilize the fact that I speak fluently Dutch, English and Frisian (second language of the Netherlands) and am capable of understanding and conversing in German, French, Spanish and Swedish. However, English, German or Frisian audiobookproducers have no way of knowing about my capabilities! So in order to create a win/win situation for both the people of Librivox and myself, I would like to start editing books in English!

I would be more than happy to sound-design, clean up, or master monologue as well (I have a degree in audioproduction), but my main focus is on the editing part of the audiobook production process. If anyone would like some help with their books, I would be more than honored to help you out!

Thank you for taking the time to read this. All the best and hopefully I will be hearing from some of you!
Cheers!

Laurens
stepheather

Post by stepheather »

Hi, Laurens!

You probably find most of your work on the Proof Listeners or Editors Wanted forum, although I honestly haven’t seen much of a request for editing there.

Other possible options include searching the forum to see who might be posting about it in their individual threads.

You might also consider participating in the current one-act play collection viewtopic.php?t=96958. As a coordinator for a one-act play, you stitch all the parts from the actors together.

Welcome!
Stephanie
--Stephanie

Current solo:
Life among the Piutes