Please help me start

Get to know your fellow readers and tell us a little about yourself
AliceinWonder

Post by AliceinWonder »

Hi, I have recently applied to be a reader but I'm not sure whether I can just choose something and start reading or if I must wait for your go-ahead. I live in Brazil and I am an official translator and interpreter. I love reading and also audiobooks, I listen to a lot of LibriVox recordings in bed at night, in the car, in the bank line... It's a really good way to enjoy yourself and pass the time and I would like to contribute by reading to other people. I would love to start with a short story or a book chapter and I can read in English, Portuguese and French. Any suggestions?

Thanks
AliceinWonder
annise
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by annise »

Hi Alice

There are a number of what we call Multilingual Collections running that welcome contributions , there are Portugese , french and English projects - in fact anything in the readers wanted sections would love to see you , either in short works - short stories and poetry mainly or a chapter in a book so with those 3 languages practically anything is possible :D

We do have technical requirements for reading - no auditions but the files must be in the right format. The best way to make sure that everything is right before is to check out the newbies recording guide (in the Wiki link at top of every page ) and do a 1 minute trial run sound check - follow the uploading and posting in the guide , and someone will check it out.

Welcome to Librivox - and have fun :D

Anne
AliceinWonder

Post by AliceinWonder »

Thanks, I just found out I don't have the right type of microphone! As soon as I get one I will record a sound check and hopefully get started.

All the best,
Alice
Algy Pug

Post by Algy Pug »

AliceinWonder wrote:Thanks, I just found out I don't have the right type of microphone! As soon as I get one I will record a sound check and hopefully get started.

All the best,
Alice