How do you get into doing voice-overs professionally?

Everything except LibriVox (yes, this is where knitting gets discussed. Now includes non-LV Volunteers Wanted projects)
kevinl

Post by kevinl »

I want to do v/o work and live on Long Island, in NY. That is one of the reasons I joined - so I could practice while being productive. Having due dates for projects are wonderful motivators! :) Is there anybody in libri-land I could ask questions of about voice-overs? I have no prior acting experience, but took v/o lessons in a professional studio around 15 years ago. I have a really mellow tone (was told it was VALIUM FOR THE EARDRUMS) :roll: . I would like to get an in-the-trenches point of view about it, before I decide to run off and join the circus :lol: instead! My testfile is attached to give you an idea of my voice.
thanks,
Kevin
:shock:

http://upload.librivox.org/share/uploads/jc/passionateshepherdtohislove_marlow_kl.mp3.mp3
annise
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by annise »

I have moved this to the Off topic forum as you are not really asking for help about a Librivox matter .

Anne
chocoholic
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by chocoholic »

annise wrote:I have moved this to the Off topic forum as you are not really asking for help about a Librivox matter .
Oops, my fault, Kevin said "Where should I post this, in OT?" and I said "Oh, Need Help should be fine." :lol: Either way, people will find it. Good luck with it, Kevin! (The V/O work, I mean.)
Laurie Anne
Cori

Post by Cori »

I'm by no means an expert, but my suggestions would be:

Sign up in http://www.voice-overs.com/forum/ ... <disclaimer, I am not signed up there> they do seem pretty friendly, and I bet if you rummage around the forums you'll find a lot of people asking the same question and a range of answers which might be useful.