LibriVox
Forums

* FAQ    * Search
* Login   * Register
It is currently April 17th, 2014, 9:48 am

Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

Post Posted:: November 22nd, 2007, 8:59 am 
LibriVox Admin Team

All the books mentioned in this thread have been suggested at one time or another, but they aren't legal to record here at LibriVox -- to keep the forum tidy, I've made them into a list below, and put in the relevant copyright information.

All copyright info is my understanding of it, as it applies to LibriVox but I am not a lawyer, so please use this as guidance and do your own checking if desired. Also, it is all current as of November 2007, but that's not to say the law in the US won't change again. :roll:
Only US law is mentioned - read here for why.

1984 by George Orwell
First published in 1949, US copyright will expire in 2045. (Because Orwell died in 1950, this book is already out of copyright in some countries, including Canada and Australia. See link above for more about LibriVox geography, though!)

Animal Farm by George Orwell
First published in 1945, US copyright will expire in 2041.

Anne of Ingleside by Lucy Maud Montgomery
First published in 1939, copyright later renewed, US copyright will expire 31 Dec 2034.

Apache Wedding Prayer (poem) by Albert Maltz
Usually thought to be a traditional prayer, this poem has been written by Albert Maltz for the movie Broken Arrow, in 1950.

Anne of Windy Poplars by Lucy Maud Montgomery
First published in 1936, US copyright will expire in 2032.

Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
First published in 1957, US copyright will expire in 2053.

Blue Castle by Lucy Maud Montgomery
First published in 1926, copyright renewed in 1954, US copyright will expire 31 Dec 2021.

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
First published in 1932, US copyright will expire in 2028.

The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger
First published in 1951, copyright later renewed, US copyright now expires in 2044.