Hey, Hey, Hey!

Get to know your fellow readers and tell us a little about yourself
celaluzerne

Post by celaluzerne »

Good morning, all!
Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to join the forum and participate as a volunteer reader of audiobooks! This is one small step towards achieving a dream of mine. A medium step would be actually choosing and recording a book. I LOVE consuming audio, but when I actually do the talking, I get tired. I'm excited for the challenge and the chance to make my mark alongside a great group of other volunteers and experts in the field. Y'all are great, inspiring, and awesome for welcoming new readers to join!
Anyone who is reading the forums lately and sees this, please share an important piece of advice for narrating aloud!

Best to all,
Charnae
FiccionNarrada

Post by FiccionNarrada »

We have shared dreams! I guess many around here can say the same, I can say that I feel the same emotion as you to be here.

I can't say I'm a professional voiceover artist, but in these two months since I decided to give shape to the idea of storytelling I have consumed all the information available to me.

One tip that seemed important to me is that you have to try to speak almost “in a whisper” as if you were telling the story to someone's ear, trying to project your voice with the minimum of effort, so to speak. Finding the right distance to the microphone in several tests. Then you can increase the volume of the recording with the recording software, In audacity, Effects>Normalize Volume>Check the perceived volume box>Set to -19LUFS.

I suppose that due to lack of habit my voice also gets tired quickly, so when I reach my limit (between 1 and 2 hours) I simply stop to rest and “layout” the following paragraphs to read (mark the parts where I have to read slower, find the words where it would be good to put more emphasis, etc) and clean the audio I have done in those 2 hours of mistakes.