Lila 1 minute test

All languages: post your test recording here. Help check audio files.
LilaMable

Post by LilaMable »

Here's my link:
https://librivox.org/uploads/tests/test_lilamable_mp3_1.mp3

My version of windows computer will not download Audacity so I used a phone instead. I recorded using the "Voice Recorder & Voice Memos" app and edited on the "Music Audio Editor, MP3 Cutter" app. I think it fits all settings requirements, but I was not able to download the audio checker either so I don't know if it is in the right db range.

Please let me know if this is acceptable or if there is better software I can use on a mobile!
SCaulkins

Post by SCaulkins »

Hello, Lila.

I am no expert on software choices for you. Hopefully somebody with some knowledge of that will step in.

But I can share that two technical specs need to be fixed: First, the file needs to be mono instead of stereo. Second, the recording volume needs to be higher. Right now the file registers at 84.2 decibels. (You need 86-92, with 89/90 being ideal)

Looking forward to your contributions in Ivanhoe and appreciate the help.
Scott
redrun
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by redrun »

In case your computer will only download programs from the "Microsoft Store", there is a way to turn off that setting:
https://www.wikihow.com/Turn-Off-S-Mode-in-Windows-10

If the computer does not belong to you, be sure to check that this is OK beforehand. It requires that you be the admin of the computer (or get their permission), and that you sign in with a free Microsoft account (sends you several types of ads until you opt out of each).
LilaMable

Post by LilaMable »

SCaulkins wrote: December 9th, 2023, 7:08 am Hello, Lila.

I am no expert on software choices for you. Hopefully somebody with some knowledge of that will step in.