1 minute test recording

All languages: post your test recording here. Help check audio files.
RileauwrxVO

Post by RileauwrxVO »

Hi -
My name is Brian. I am new to Voice over but very excited and anxious to learn as much as possible on LibriVox.
https://librivox.org/uploads/tests/Copy_of_test_rileauwrxvo.mp3
I use Wave pad, Windows and use an analog mic. Thank you for any constructive suggestions.
sjmarky

Post by sjmarky »

Welcome Brian

I reviewed your test sample, and while it sounds good there are some technical changes needed. LibriVox requires audio that is 128kbps constant bit rate, 44.1kHz sample rate, mono, and between 86db and 92db, preferably 89-90. Your test audio is 224kbps, stereo, and volume too high at 93.2db.

You can pre-check your audio yourself by downloading the free Checker app: https://cgjennings.ca/projects/checker/
Passed with Warnings is a fail with regard to volume.

Please make a new test recording and post it in a reply to this message. I will come back and review it for you.
"Bringing you yesterday's tomorrow...today!"

My website
My Librivox reader page
RileauwrxVO

Post by RileauwrxVO »

For some reason, I am having trouble with the file checker app. I drag the file and place it where it says to place it. It automatically returns back to where I grabbed it. Any suggestions, please?
Winnifred

Post by Winnifred »

RileauwrxVO wrote: November 10th, 2023, 9:34 pm For some reason, I am having trouble with the file checker app. I drag the file and place it where it says to place it. It automatically returns back to where I grabbed it. Any suggestions, please?
Try clicking "File > Check Files..." in the Checker menu, make sure that "File format" in the dialogue box that comes up is set to "MP3 files," not "All Files," then navigate to the file on your computer, select it, and click "Check files." That should work.
Winnifred
From May 15-23, no access to Checker or to PL readings longer than 10 minutes

Readers Wanted: