grp/novel One Thing Needful by Mary Elizabeth Braddon-mtf

Every work here needs a reader! Please sign up and help us complete these books. The symbol ~ means that Proof Listeners are needed
miss stav
Posts: 15007
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » May 19th, 2020, 11:33 pm

One Thing Needful by Mary Elizabeth Braddon (1835 - 1915).

Can starving children be grateful for the education they receive if, when they ask for food, rich people give them a stone? This is the question in the heart of this rich psychological novel. Lady Lashmore is a typical lady of her time, ruling every aspect of her household and constantly complaining that the poor people in the factory ten miles away bother her. Things change when her son, Lord Lashmore, falls in love with a poor woman. Only then does he understand what is the one thing they need most. Only then does he mature, develop empathy, and see what are the real important things in life. This is a coming of age story, a love story, but, most of all, a story about prejudice and small revolutions. For the world would never be the same again and the young generation sees social classes differently. This novel is perfect for fans of Charlotte Bronte and Elizabeth Gaskell. Readers who love Mary Elizabeth Braddon's other novels will not be disappointed. ( Stav Nisser.)
    1. How to claim a part, and "how it all works" here To find a section to record, simply look at point 5. below at the sections. All the ones without names beside them are "up for grabs." Click "Post reply" at the top left of the screen and tell us which section you would like to read (include the section number from the left-most column in the reader list, please). Read points 6. to 8. below for what to do before, during and after your recording.
    2. New to recording? Please read our Newbie Guide to Recording!
    3. Is there a deadline? We ask that you submit your recorded sections within 1-2 months of placing your claim. Please note that to be fair to the readers who have completed their sections in a timely way, if you haven't submitted your recording(s) after two months, your sections will automatically be re-opened for other readers to claim, unless you post in this thread to request an extension. Extensions will be granted at the discretion of the Book Coordinator. If you cannot do your section, for whatever reason, just let me know and it'll go back to the pool. There's no shame in this; we're all volunteers and things happen.Please do not sign up for more sections than you can complete within the two month deadline.
    4. Where do I find the text? Source text (please only read from this text!): https://archive.org/details/419909889.2557.emory.edu/page/n5/mode/2up
    5. Please claim sections (the numbers in the first column below)! If this is your first recording, please let me know under which name or pseudonym you'd like to appear in the LibriVox catalogue. We can also link to a personal website/blog.

      Prospective Prooflisteners: Please read the Listeners Wanted FAQ before listening! Level of prooflistening requested: standard


      Please don't download or listen to files belonging to projects in process (unless you are the BC or PL). Our servers are not set up to handle the greater volume of traffic. Please wait until the project has been completed. Thanks!


      Magic Window:



      BC Admin ===========================================


      Genres for the project:

      Keywords that describe the book: psychological novel, social novel

      ============================================
    6. BEFORE recording: Please check the Recording Notes: viewtopic.php?p=6430#p6430

      Set your recording software to:
      Channels: 1 (Mono)
      Bit Rate: 128 kbps
      Sample Rate: 44.1 kHz
    7. DURING recording:
      No more than 0.5 to 1 second of silence at the beginning of the recording!
      Make sure you add this to the beginning of your recording:
      START of recording (Intro)
      • "Chapter [number] of One Thing Needful . This is a LibriVox recording. All LibriVox recordings are in the public domain. For more information, or to volunteer, please visit: librivox DOT org"
      • If you wish, say: "Recording by [your name], [city, your blog, podcast, web address]"
      • Say:
        "One Thing Needful , by Mary Elizabeth Braddon . [Chapter]"

      END of recording
      • At the end of the section, say:
        "End of [Chapter]"
      • If you wish, say:
        "Recording by [your name], [city, your blog, podcast, web address]"
      • At the end of the book, say (in addition):
        "End of One Thing Needful , by Mary Elizabeth Braddon . "

      There should be ~5 seconds silence at the end of the recording.

      Please remember to check this thread frequently for updates!
    8. AFTER recording
      Need noise-cleaning?
      Listen to your file through headphones. If you can hear some constant background noise (hiss/buzz), you may want to clean it up a bit. The latest version of Audacity is recommended for noise-cleaning. See this LibriVox wiki page for a complete guide.
      Save files as
      128 kbps MP3
      onethingneedful_##_braddon_128kb.mp3 (all lower-case) where ## is the section number (e.g. onethingneedful_01_braddon_128kb.mp3)
    9. Example ID3 V2 tags
      (To find out more about ID3 tags, go to our wiki: https://wiki.librivox.org/index.php/What_is_ID3)
      Add the following tags to your .mp3 file (how you do this depends on which software you use – if you are unsure about ID3 tags, send me a message). Please mind upper and lower case!
      Artist: Mary Elizabeth Braddon
      Title: ## - [Section title]
      Album: One Thing Needful

      Please ignore tags for Genre and Track Number - these will be filled in automatically at the cataloguing stage.
      Transfer of files (completed recordings) Please always post in this forum thread when you've sent a file. Also, post the length of the recording (file duration: mm:ss) together with the link.
      • Upload your file with the LibriVox Uploader: https://librivox.org/login/uploader
        Image
        (If you have trouble reading the image above, please message an admin)
      • You'll need to select the MC, which for this project is: mightyfelix
      • When your upload is complete, you will receive a link - please post it in this thread.
      • If this doesn't work, or you have questions, please check our How To Send Your Recording wiki page.

      Any questions?
      Please post below or pm me
Love gothic novels? Try Children Of The Abbey. Interested in legents? Try Legents Of Saints And Sinners. Interested in femenist fiction? Try Falkner.

mightyfelix
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 5477
Joined: August 7th, 2016, 6:39 pm

Post by mightyfelix » May 20th, 2020, 8:20 pm

Hi, Stav. Looks like another great selection. I'll MC for you. MW coming right up!

mightyfelix
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 5477
Joined: August 7th, 2016, 6:39 pm

Post by mightyfelix » May 20th, 2020, 9:03 pm

Ok, Stav, your MW is ready to go!

The scan you linked to doesn't show a printed date in it, although archive says 1887, so it's a little risky to use this edition. I've found another source that will work for sure, but I'm double checking with the other admins before I ask you to use a different link. Don't worry, I'll let you know as soon as I can.

miss stav
Posts: 15007
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » May 20th, 2020, 9:53 pm

Hi Devorah,
how lovely to work with you as MC. I used versions from this collection before so I am a little surprised. Books by Mary Elizabeth Braddon are tricky because some versions link to only one volume of a proticular work. Books from this collection are complete. So when you ask me to use a different version I will make sure it is also complete before linking to it. Regards,
Stav.
Love gothic novels? Try Children Of The Abbey. Interested in legents? Try Legents Of Saints And Sinners. Interested in femenist fiction? Try Falkner.

mightyfelix
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 5477
Joined: August 7th, 2016, 6:39 pm

Post by mightyfelix » May 21st, 2020, 6:10 am

Ok, we can stick with this scan, actually. Sorry to worry you. I was inclined to say that it would be fine, but since there want a printed date, I wanted to get a second opinion.

miss stav
Posts: 15007
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » May 21st, 2020, 7:21 am

I was not worried. I just didn't want only one volume. Anyhow, I entered the chapter titles and not the wordcounts, because the text is not accessible enough. In a recent project I discovered that it is possible to live without them.
Love gothic novels? Try Children Of The Abbey. Interested in legents? Try Legents Of Saints And Sinners. Interested in femenist fiction? Try Falkner.

mightyfelix
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 5477
Joined: August 7th, 2016, 6:39 pm

Post by mightyfelix » May 21st, 2020, 11:32 am

I agree, word counts are nice to have, but not necessary. Are you ready for Readers Wanted, or would you like to wait here for a day or two to try to get a DPL?

miss stav
Posts: 15007
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » May 21st, 2020, 1:18 pm

It is harder to find a dpl in the readers wanted section. How about we wait here until satterday?
Love gothic novels? Try Children Of The Abbey. Interested in legents? Try Legents Of Saints And Sinners. Interested in femenist fiction? Try Falkner.

mightyfelix
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 5477
Joined: August 7th, 2016, 6:39 pm

Post by mightyfelix » May 21st, 2020, 4:10 pm

Sounds great, and I agree with you! :D *smile*

sjmarky
Posts: 2633
Joined: August 28th, 2006, 8:47 pm
Location: Poictesme
Contact:

Post by sjmarky » June 5th, 2020, 10:15 pm

I can do chapter 1 to get this started.
"Bringing you yesterday's tomorrow...today!"

My website
My Librivox reader page

miss stav
Posts: 15007
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » June 5th, 2020, 10:26 pm

How wonderful. Thank you.
Love gothic novels? Try Children Of The Abbey. Interested in legents? Try Legents Of Saints And Sinners. Interested in femenist fiction? Try Falkner.

sjmarky
Posts: 2633
Joined: August 28th, 2006, 8:47 pm
Location: Poictesme
Contact:

Post by sjmarky » June 6th, 2020, 2:42 pm

"Bringing you yesterday's tomorrow...today!"

My website
My Librivox reader page

miss stav
Posts: 15007
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » June 7th, 2020, 12:15 am

Huge thanks. That was fas.t WOuld you like to continue with chapter 2?
Love gothic novels? Try Children Of The Abbey. Interested in legents? Try Legents Of Saints And Sinners. Interested in femenist fiction? Try Falkner.

sjmarky
Posts: 2633
Joined: August 28th, 2006, 8:47 pm
Location: Poictesme
Contact:

Post by sjmarky » June 7th, 2020, 6:18 pm

Ok. There’s no DPL. Is it ok if I try to recruit PLs?
"Bringing you yesterday's tomorrow...today!"

My website
My Librivox reader page

sjmarky
Posts: 2633
Joined: August 28th, 2006, 8:47 pm
Location: Poictesme
Contact:

Post by sjmarky » June 7th, 2020, 6:18 pm

Ok, I’ll do 2. There’s no DPL. Is it ok if I try to recruit PLs?
"Bringing you yesterday's tomorrow...today!"

My website
My Librivox reader page

Post Reply