[grp/romance] Mrs. Dymond by Thackeray Ritchi - ke

Every work here needs a reader! Please sign up and help us complete these books. The symbol ~ means that Proof Listeners are needed
Post Reply
miss stav
Posts: 12884
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » March 4th, 2017, 1:34 am

Mrs. Dymond by Anne Isabella Thackeray Ritchie (1837 - 1919).

Susanna Holcombe, a very sensitive and free spirited young lady, tries to fit in to society. But it is very hard for a Victorian woman to carve her own path, and she is almost forced to marry colonel Dymond. This book tells about her trials and tribulations. Can she find her place at last? Perfect for fans of Mary Elizabeth Braddon and Anthony Trollope, and those who want a Jane Austen novel with a twist. Anne Isabella Thackeray Ritchie was the eldest daughter of William Makepeace Thackery, author of Vanity Fair. (Stav Nisser. )
    1. How to claim a part, and "how it all works" here To find a section to record, simply look at point 5. below at the sections. All the ones without names beside them are "up for grabs." Click "Post reply" at the top left of the screen and tell us which section you would like to read (include the section number from the left-most column in the reader list, please). Read points 6. to 8. below for what to do before, during and after your recording.
    2. New to recording? Please read our Newbie Guide to Recording!
    3. Is there a deadline? We ask that you submit your recorded sections within 1-2 months of placing your claim. Please note that to be fair to the readers who have completed their sections in a timely way, if you haven't submitted your recording(s) after two months, your sections will automatically be re-opened for other readers to claim, unless you post in this thread to request an extension. Extensions will be granted at the discretion of the Book Coordinator. If you cannot do your section, for whatever reason, just let me know and it'll go back to the pool. There's no shame in this; we're all volunteers and things happen.Please do not sign up for more sections than you can complete within the two month deadline.
    4. Where do I find the text? Source text (please only read from this text!): https://archive.org/details/mrsdymond01ritcgoog
      Volume 2 starts here: https://archive.org/stream/mrsdymond01ritcgoog#page/n310/mode/2up
    5. Please claim sections (the numbers in the first column below)! If this is your first recording, please let me know under which name or pseudonym you'd like to appear in the LibriVox catalogue. We can also link to a personal website/blog.

      Prospective Prooflisteners: Please read the Listeners Wanted FAQ before listening! Level of prooflistening requested: standard


      Please don't download or listen to files belonging to projects in process (unless you are the BC or PL). Our servers are not set up to handle the greater volume of traffic. Please wait until the project has been completed. Thanks!


      Magic Window:



      BC Admin ===========================================
      This paragraph is temporary and will be replaced by the MC with the list of sections and reader (Magic Window) once this project is in the admin system.

      • Project Code: 2cDe1Umk
      • Link to author on Wikipedia (if available): (Anne Isabella Thackeray Ritchie ) : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anne_Isabella_Thackeray_R
      • Link to title on Wikipedia (if available):
      • Number of sections (files) this project will have: 46
      • Does the project have an introduction or preface [y/n]: No
      • Original publication date (if known): 1885
      • If you are a new volunteer, how would you like your name (or pseudonym) credited in the catalog? Do you have a URL you would like associated with your name?:

      ============================================

      Genres for the project: Family Life; Romance

      Keywords that describe the book: love story, Victorian novel, social novel, domestic story

      ============================================
    6. BEFORE recording: Please check the Recording Notes: http://librivox.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=6427#6430

      Set your recording software to:
      Channels: 1 (Mono)
      Bit Rate: 128 kbps
      Sample Rate: 44.1 kHz
    7. DURING recording:
      No more than 0.5 to 1 second of silence at the beginning of the recording!
      Make sure you add this to the beginning of your recording:
      START of recording (Intro)
      • "Section [number] of Mrs. Dymond . This is a LibriVox recording. All LibriVox recordings are in the public domain. For more information, or to volunteer, please visit: librivox DOT org"
      • If you wish, say: "Recording by [your name], [city, your blog, podcast, web address]"
      • Say:
        "Mrs. Dymond , by Anne Isabella Thackeray Ritchie . Part [3], Chapter [#], [Chapter title]"

      END of recording
      • At the end of the section, say:
        "End of section [number]"
      • If you wish, say:
        "Recording by [your name], [city, your blog, podcast, web address]"
      • At the end of the book, say (in addition):
        "End of Mrs. Dymond , by Anne Isabella Thackeray Ritchie . "

      There should be 5 seconds silence at the end of the recording.

      Please remember to check this thread frequently for updates!
    8. AFTER recording
      Need noise-cleaning?
      Listen to your file through headphones. If you can hear some constant background noise (hiss/buzz), you may want to clean it up a bit. The new (free) version 1.3.3. of Audacity has much improved noise-cleaning. See this LibriVox wiki page for a complete guide.
      Save files as
      128 kbps MP3
      mrsdymond_##_ritchie_128kb.mp3 (all lower-case) where ## is the section number (e.g. mrsdymond_01_ritchie_128kb.mp3)
    9. You don't need to fill in ID3 tags, our software does so automatically when the project goes into the catalog.

      Please ignore tags for Genre and Track Number - these will be filled in automatically at the cataloguing stage.
      Transfer of files (completed recordings) Please always post in this forum thread when you've sent a file. Also, post the length of the recording (file duration: mm:ss) together with the link.
      • Upload your file with the LibriVox Uploader: https://librivox.org/login/uploader
        Image
        (If you have trouble reading the image above, please message an admin)
      • You'll need to select the MC, which for this project is: kathrinee
      • When your upload is complete, you will receive a link - please post it in this thread.
      • If this doesn't work, or you have questions, please check our How To Send Your Recording wiki page.



      Any questions?
      Please post below
Want to read a delightful Victorian romance? Try Mrs. Dymond. Like feminist fiction? Try The Hevenly Twins. Or how about a revolutionary essay? Try Life In the Sickroom.

kathrinee
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 6996
Joined: May 14th, 2012, 5:09 am
Location: in the sun

Post by kathrinee » March 8th, 2017, 3:54 pm

Hello Stav, I can set this up for you
Kathrine

~~ Thanks for your patience! Please feel free to send me a PM if you feel that I'm neglecting you ~~

Fairytales in Danish, Swedish, or Norwegian


miss stav
Posts: 12884
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » March 8th, 2017, 3:57 pm

Great. Thanks
Want to read a delightful Victorian romance? Try Mrs. Dymond. Like feminist fiction? Try The Hevenly Twins. Or how about a revolutionary essay? Try Life In the Sickroom.

kathrinee
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 6996
Joined: May 14th, 2012, 5:09 am
Location: in the sun

Post by kathrinee » March 8th, 2017, 4:07 pm

Here is a magic window, all set to go. Please let me know if you need any help! (smile)
Kathrine

~~ Thanks for your patience! Please feel free to send me a PM if you feel that I'm neglecting you ~~

Fairytales in Danish, Swedish, or Norwegian


kathrinee
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 6996
Joined: May 14th, 2012, 5:09 am
Location: in the sun

Post by kathrinee » March 14th, 2017, 9:02 am

This is all set up now, let us move over to readers wanted. (smile)
Kathrine

~~ Thanks for your patience! Please feel free to send me a PM if you feel that I'm neglecting you ~~

Fairytales in Danish, Swedish, or Norwegian


Lemania
Posts: 1
Joined: March 29th, 2017, 11:04 pm

Post by Lemania » April 1st, 2017, 10:46 pm

Would like to record Sec 1 and 2.

Thanks!

miss stav
Posts: 12884
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » April 2nd, 2017, 3:02 am

Hello Lemania,
welcome to Librivox. I hope you will enjoy here. Sections 1 and 2 are all yours. Please Before you proceed, please submit a one-minute sampal recordin, just to make sure that your tecnical settins are all correct. In addition, please let us know under which name you would like to appear in the catalogue, and if you have a personal url which you would like us to link to your name. If you have any questions, please ask.
Stav.
Want to read a delightful Victorian romance? Try Mrs. Dymond. Like feminist fiction? Try The Hevenly Twins. Or how about a revolutionary essay? Try Life In the Sickroom.

MrsHand
Posts: 3111
Joined: September 12th, 2013, 11:54 am
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Post by MrsHand » July 8th, 2017, 6:52 pm

May I please read all of Book 1 (Sections 1-8)?

miss stav
Posts: 12884
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » July 8th, 2017, 9:28 pm

Wow. You made my day. All of book 1 is yours. Have fun.
Want to read a delightful Victorian romance? Try Mrs. Dymond. Like feminist fiction? Try The Hevenly Twins. Or how about a revolutionary essay? Try Life In the Sickroom.

kathrinee
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 6996
Joined: May 14th, 2012, 5:09 am
Location: in the sun

Post by kathrinee » July 9th, 2017, 2:22 pm

MW is updated. Were you planning to DPL this book, Stav? If not, I can post in the listeners and editors wanted-forum, looking for a DPL when the first sections comes in. smile
Kathrine

~~ Thanks for your patience! Please feel free to send me a PM if you feel that I'm neglecting you ~~

Fairytales in Danish, Swedish, or Norwegian


miss stav
Posts: 12884
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » July 9th, 2017, 7:57 pm

No, I am not planning to dpl this book. I never get around to dpl these days. I will post when sections come in.
Want to read a delightful Victorian romance? Try Mrs. Dymond. Like feminist fiction? Try The Hevenly Twins. Or how about a revolutionary essay? Try Life In the Sickroom.

neecheelok70
Posts: 3113
Joined: April 4th, 2016, 4:52 pm

Post by neecheelok70 » July 25th, 2017, 5:51 am

I would like to be the DPL, if that is ok. Jim

miss stav
Posts: 12884
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » July 25th, 2017, 5:45 pm

Sure. It's a wonderful book. Hope you'd have fun.
Want to read a delightful Victorian romance? Try Mrs. Dymond. Like feminist fiction? Try The Hevenly Twins. Or how about a revolutionary essay? Try Life In the Sickroom.

neecheelok70
Posts: 3113
Joined: April 4th, 2016, 4:52 pm

Post by neecheelok70 » July 25th, 2017, 6:13 pm

Thanks, I am looking forward to it. Jim

kathrinee
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 6996
Joined: May 14th, 2012, 5:09 am
Location: in the sun

Post by kathrinee » July 26th, 2017, 12:20 pm

Welcome, Jim! You should have access to the MW now
Kathrine

~~ Thanks for your patience! Please feel free to send me a PM if you feel that I'm neglecting you ~~

Fairytales in Danish, Swedish, or Norwegian


Post Reply