Error in the Finnish disclaimer

Deutsch, Español, Français, Nederlands, Polski, Português, 日本語 ...
emminz

Post by emminz »

Hey!

I considered recording a piece in Finnish and caught a bit in the standard disclaimer that bothers me. The way it is currently, it effectively says that all Librivox recordings are public property, i.e. owned by the state ("äänitteet ovat julkista omaisuutta"). Overall, the Finnish disclaimer could use a revamp to make it more natural too; I find it rather machine-like.

I have no background in law and therefore cannot say what would be the legal translation of public domain in Finnish, but I would wager that "vapaita tekijänoikeuksista", as in "free of copyright" would get the point across.

Is there any chance the standard disclaimer could be edited? I would also be happy to revamp it as a whole if that is an option.
- Emmi
tovarisch

Post by tovarisch »

AFAICT, "in public domain", "public property" and "owned by the state" are not necessarily the same thing. Whatever it means in Finnish law may actually be different from what it means in the USA. LibriVox is the subject of the American law because the collection is stored in the US and is published by Archive.org, as I understand it.

That said, if you can find a better translation, smoother sounding, more pleasant to the ear, while not deviating from the meaning "in public domain", it would nice, I am sure.
tovarisch
  • reality prompts me to scale down my reading, sorry to say
    to PLers: do correct my pronunciation please
emminz

Post by emminz »

tovarisch wrote: June 12th, 2020, 4:08 am AFAICT, "in public domain", "public property" and "owned by the state" are not necessarily the same thing. Whatever it means in Finnish law may actually be different from what it means in the USA. LibriVox is the subject of the American law because the collection is stored in the US and is published by Archive.org, as I understand it.