COMPLETE Workhouse Characters by Margaret Nevinson - rap

Solo or group recordings that are finished and fully available for listeners
Post Reply
miss stav
Posts: 14624
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » February 6th, 2020, 5:17 pm

Workhouse Characters by Margaret Nevinson (1858 - 1932).

This project is complete, and all audio files can be found in the catalogue! https://librivox.org/workhouse-characters-by-margaret-nevinson/

"
In 1904, Margaret Nevinson, a respectable lady and active suffragette, joined the board of guardians in Hampstead Heath. The guardians had responsibility over the parish workhouse. In the UK, before the 1930s, one could not receive welfair assistance unless he or she entered the workhouse. A house for which one had to work. The condissions were so poor, sometimes even poorer then condissions in prison. The workhouse inspired many novels, the most famous is Oliver Twist. This collection of short stories is about the horrors Margaret saw, chiefly about things women had to endure. A married woman collected money and found a house for her and her children, but could not leave the workhouse as she was, by law, "the property of her husband." This particular story was adapted from her one-act play "In The Workhouse" which helped change that law only two years later. In another story, a smart lady who studied at the University Of Cambridge sinks into depression after the death of her husband and finds herself drunk at the workhouse. In 26 tales, Nevinson details the horrors of the system, one after the other, in an engaging and elegant style which appealed to the public. This book is perfect for fans of Charles Dickens, and for all those who love feminism and social history.
    1. How to claim a part, and "how it all works" here To find a section to record, simply look at point 5. below at the sections. All the ones without names beside them are "up for grabs." Click "Post reply" at the top left of the screen and tell us which section you would like to read (include the section number from the left-most column in the reader list, please). Read points 6. to 8. below for what to do before, during and after your recording.
    2. New to recording? Please read our Newbie Guide to Recording!
    3. Is there a deadline? We ask that you submit your recorded sections within 1-2 months of placing your claim. Please note that to be fair to the readers who have completed their sections in a timely way, if you haven't submitted your recording(s) after two months, your sections will automatically be re-opened for other readers to claim, unless you post in this thread to request an extension. Extensions will be granted at the discretion of the Book Coordinator. If you cannot do your section, for whatever reason, just let me know and it'll go back to the pool. There's no shame in this; we're all volunteers and things happen.Please do not sign up for more sections than you can complete within the two month deadline.
    4. Where do I find the text? Source text (please only read from this text!): http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/40881
    5. Please claim sections (the numbers in the first column below)! If this is your first recording, please let me know under which name or pseudonym you'd like to appear in the LibriVox catalogue. We can also link to a personal website/blog.

      Note: each page is about two minutes of finished recording.

      Prospective Prooflisteners: Please read the Listeners Wanted FAQ before listening! Level of prooflistening requested: standard


      Please don't download or listen to files belonging to projects in process (unless you are the BC or PL). Our servers are not set up to handle the greater volume of traffic. Please wait until the project has been completed. Thanks!


      Magic Window:



      BC Admin ===========================================


      ============================================
    6. BEFORE recording: Please check the Recording Notes: viewtopic.php?p=6430#p6430

      Set your recording software to:
      Channels: 1 (Mono)
      Bit Rate: 128 kbps
      Sample Rate: 44.1 kHz

      .
    7. DURING recording:
      No more than 0.5 to 1 second of silence at the beginning of the recording!
      Make sure you add this to the beginning of your recording:
      START of recording (Intro)
      • "Chapter [number] of Workhouse Characters . This is a LibriVox recording. All LibriVox recordings are in the public domain. For more information, or to volunteer, please visit: librivox DOT org"
      • If you wish, say: "Recording by [your name], [city, your blog, podcast, web address]"
      • Say:
        "Workhouse Characters , by Margaret Nevinson . [Chapter]"

      END of recording
      • At the end of the section, say:
        "End of [Chapter]"
      • If you wish, say:
        "Recording by [your name], [city, your blog, podcast, web address]"
      • At the end of the book, say (in addition):
        "End of Workhouse Characters , by Margaret Nevinson . "

      There should be ~5 seconds silence at the end of the recording.

      Please remember to check this thread frequently for updates!
      .
    8. AFTER recording
      Need noise-cleaning?
      Listen to your file through headphones. If you can hear some constant background noise (hiss/buzz), you may want to clean it up a bit. The latest version of Audacity is recommended for noise-cleaning. See this LibriVox wiki page for a complete guide.
      Save files as
      128 kbps MP3
      workhousecharacters_##_nevinson_128kb.mp3 (all lower-case) where ## is the section number (e.g. workhousecharacters_01_nevinson_128kb.mp3)
      .
    9. Transfer of files (completed recordings) Please always post in this forum thread when you've sent a file. Also, post the length of the recording (file duration: mm:ss) together with the link.
      • Upload your file with the LibriVox Uploader: https://librivox.org/login/uploader
        Image
        (If you have trouble reading the image above, please message an admin)
      • You'll need to select the MC, which for this project is: Rapunzelina
      • When your upload is complete, you will receive a link - please post it in this thread.
      • If this doesn't work, or you have questions, please check our How To Send Your Recording wiki page.

      Any questions?
      Please post below or pm me
Last edited by miss stav on February 11th, 2020, 9:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Love realistic novels? Try Muslin. Interested in legents? Try Legents Of Saints And Sinners. Want to read about growing up? Try Miss Crespigney.

Rapunzelina
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 8361
Joined: November 15th, 2011, 3:47 am

Post by Rapunzelina » February 11th, 2020, 1:09 pm

Hello, Stav! Let me MC this project! Could I also sign up as the dpl?

miss stav
Posts: 14624
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » February 11th, 2020, 2:58 pm

Hay, how lovely to work with you on this one. Sure, you can sign up as dpl. I think it is right up your alley.
Love realistic novels? Try Muslin. Interested in legents? Try Legents Of Saints And Sinners. Want to read about growing up? Try Miss Crespigney.

Rapunzelina
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 8361
Joined: November 15th, 2011, 3:47 am

Post by Rapunzelina » February 11th, 2020, 3:07 pm

Thank you!

And we have a Magic Window now! All yours!

miss stav
Posts: 14624
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » February 11th, 2020, 8:59 pm

All sections were entered and we are ready to go
Love realistic novels? Try Muslin. Interested in legents? Try Legents Of Saints And Sinners. Want to read about growing up? Try Miss Crespigney.

KevinS
Posts: 6618
Joined: April 7th, 2019, 8:32 am
Contact:

Post by KevinS » February 12th, 2020, 5:17 am

Sections 12 and 13, please.

miss stav
Posts: 14624
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » February 12th, 2020, 11:36 am

Sure. All yours.
Love realistic novels? Try Muslin. Interested in legents? Try Legents Of Saints And Sinners. Want to read about growing up? Try Miss Crespigney.


miss stav
Posts: 14624
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » February 12th, 2020, 6:21 pm

Wow. That was fast. Thanks.
Love realistic novels? Try Muslin. Interested in legents? Try Legents Of Saints And Sinners. Want to read about growing up? Try Miss Crespigney.

Rapunzelina
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 8361
Joined: November 15th, 2011, 3:47 am

Post by Rapunzelina » February 13th, 2020, 12:02 pm

All good, just a repeat of the sentence at 07:52 - 07:58.

KevinS
Posts: 6618
Joined: April 7th, 2019, 8:32 am
Contact:

Post by KevinS » February 13th, 2020, 12:16 pm

Section 13 repaired, I hope.

https://librivox.org/uploads/rapunzelina/workhousecharacters_13_nevinson_128kb.mp3 (8:34)

I'm glad it wasn't worse. You should have heard how I stumbled at first all over worriting!

Rapunzelina
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 8361
Joined: November 15th, 2011, 3:47 am

Post by Rapunzelina » February 13th, 2020, 12:43 pm

Yes, it is a peculiar text, you did a great job! :thumbs:
Spot check PL OK!

KevinS
Posts: 6618
Joined: April 7th, 2019, 8:32 am
Contact:

Post by KevinS » February 13th, 2020, 1:13 pm

Rapunzelina wrote:
February 13th, 2020, 12:43 pm
Yes, it is a peculiar text, you did a great job! :thumbs:
Spot check PL OK!
Thank you!

johnb2
Posts: 1405
Joined: September 10th, 2011, 9:41 am
Location: Ohio

Post by johnb2 » February 14th, 2020, 2:48 pm

Hi Stav

19-20-21 - 23-25-26 please

miss stav
Posts: 14624
Joined: October 4th, 2007, 5:25 pm
Location: Israel

Post by miss stav » February 14th, 2020, 2:52 pm

Sure, all yours. Have fun.
Love realistic novels? Try Muslin. Interested in legents? Try Legents Of Saints And Sinners. Want to read about growing up? Try Miss Crespigney.

Post Reply