Studying audiobook narration in college

Everything except LibriVox (yes, this is where knitting gets discussed. Now includes non-LV Volunteers Wanted projects)
gagiha

Post by gagiha »

I wonder, are there college degrees in book voicing/audiobook narration? I'm a newbie here, so don't blame me for such silly threads like this. If there is someone certified in voicing, I would like to hear your opinion on admissions and studying.
k5hsj

Post by k5hsj »

So far as I know, there are no college degrees given in audiobook narration. Since narration requires both technical and performance skills, your best bet would probably be to take a major in theater with a minor in broadcasting or a major in broadcasting with a minor in theater. A search online for "college courses in audiobook narration" may produce some specific courses. HTH.

Winston
Be kind. Be interesting. Be useful. Morality ain't hard.--Jack Butler, Living in Little Rock with Miss Little Rock
GraceBuchanan

Post by GraceBuchanan »

The new (almost one year old) Professional Audiobook Narrators Association is hoping to implement accreditations for narrators. This doesn't exist yet for narrators, or the coaches or instructors.

Most successful professional narrators and coaches have strong backgrounds in stage and screen acting. Many also have a music background. Narrators Roadmap is a great resource for finding voice coaches whom you can interview for their perspective on college programs.

Best wishes!
My LibriVox publications

All Listeners: I welcome all feedback including word-perfect proofing
lightcrystal

Post by lightcrystal »

GraceBuchanan wrote: June 5th, 2022, 3:27 pm The new (almost one year old) Professional Audiobook Narrators Association is hoping to implement accreditations for narrators. This doesn't exist yet for narrators, or the coaches or instructors.