I built an app for listening to Librivox audio books. Be my first users!

Everything except LibriVox (yes, this is where knitting gets discussed. Now includes non-LV Volunteers Wanted projects)
invisibleCat

Post by invisibleCat »

Play store
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.gemaudiobook
App store
https://apps.apple.com/us/app/gem-audiobook/id1540881525
Or search for "Gem Audiobook"
---------------

Hello everyone!

I am a designer and I recently built an app, Gem, which allows you to discover and listen to LibriVox audio books. I am still actively working on it, but it is time to let people try it out! Free and no login required.

Gem is only available for iOS for the moment, I might make an android version later. Here are a few screenshots:
More about the app:

- Find new releases and Librivox collections on the Explore page
- Browse by genre, language or search for books and authors
- Like books to listen later, download books to listen offline
- Change playback speed
- Dark mode and light mode that follows your system that can also be manually turned on/off

More about me:

I'm pretty new here and have made 2 short recordings so far! I'm a product designer at a technology company in the Bay Area, California. Ever since I discovered Librivox I found that there is not a good app for listening to the audio books, so I decided to make one myself! The works produced by the great people here deserve more distribution. I hope Gem helps people enjoy the audio books better than the ones in the market.

Let me know if you have any questions!
Last edited by invisibleCat on March 1st, 2021, 8:45 pm, edited 3 times in total.
TruistKnave

Post by TruistKnave »

That looks really cool. Makes me wish I had an i-phone. I love the way that everybody here is excited about contributing. What a great community!
I am the you that you would be if you were me.
CynCee

Post by CynCee »

Hi! This sounds great! I will play with it this week! What a great idea!
CynCee