[NOT LV]Mp3 to Mp4 - or Audacity to YouTube

Everything except LibriVox (yes, this is where knitting gets discussed. Now includes non-LV Volunteers Wanted projects)
tfavreau

Post by tfavreau » January 20th, 2020, 1:46 pm

Hello everyone,

I am new to LibriVox here and I am following the LibriVox YouTube channel to listen to the eBooks.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsHiFXTYJrc6ZKK_HJMX6jA

Question: Once I record something in Audacity, it only gives me the option to save it as an mp3 file (audio file) and YouTube will not accept that. They say "they say" that it has to be a video file, like an Mp4 to upload there. So how does LibriVox accomplish this? Once I have made my recordings how do I do what you fine folks are doing here? I did a forum search, and then a Google search, and neither provided me with anything that was even close to what I was searching for. So how is LibriVox accomplishing this?

-=TF=-
-=TF=-

philchenevert
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by philchenevert » January 20th, 2020, 2:01 pm

The MP3 file is an audio file; the MP4 is a video file. YouTube does video only. I am not an expert in these things so excuse my oversimplification.
I use a program called Camasia studio to make videos of my recordings, or at least I did many years ago. It converts the 'video' into an MP4.
Someone with more knowledge will come alolng no doubt. Thanks for the link, I had forgotten about it. :thumbs:
Phil Chenevert, The LibriVox Video Guy

At any moment the urge to sing the Lion Sleeps Tonight is just a whim away..

These Tutorial Videos Certified Virus Free !!

annise
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by annise » January 20th, 2020, 2:22 pm

Try iTunes . It does covert them to video files
Anne

Availle
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by Availle » January 20th, 2020, 4:50 pm

LibriVox is not involved in any youtube channel. :D

For details about the how-to, you should try and contact the owner of said channel.
Cheers,
Ava.

--
AvailleAudio.com

ej400