Is LV a form of escapism?

Everything except LibriVox (yes, this is where knitting gets discussed. Now includes non-LV Volunteers Wanted projects)
lurcherlover

Post by lurcherlover »

I'm always a bit obsessive about certain things. When I was a musician then I was obsessive about music, and now I'm no longer playing I'm obsessive about Librivox, and recording as much as I can. I suppose I have always been obsessed with recording, in the past music, but now voice narration.

The Oxford dictionary describes the word thus :- escapism - the tendency to seek distraction and relief from unpleasant realities, especially by seeking entertainment or engaging in fantasy.

So, is this some sort of (incurable) disease, and how many of you think you might suffer from it?
mightyfelix
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by mightyfelix »

For answer, I will quote a portion of J.R.R. Tolkien's On Fairy Stories, a lengthy and well worthwhile essay on, well, fairy stories. Here he defends one of the four functions of fairy stories, that of Escape:
In what the misusers are fond of calling Real Life, Escape is evidently as a rule very practical, and may even be heroic. In real life it is difficult to blame it, unless it fails; in criticism it would seem to be the worse the better it succeeds. Evidently we are faced by a misuse of words, and also by a confusion of thought. Why should a man be scorned if, finding himself in prison, he tries to get out and go home? Or if, when he cannot do so, he thinks and talks about other topics than jailers and prison-walls? The world outside has not become less real because the prisoner cannot see it. In using Escape in this way the critics have chosen the wrong word, and, what is more, they are confusing, not always by sincere error, the Escape of the Prisoner with the Flight of the Deserter.
and