In Person Volunteering?

Everything except LibriVox (yes, this is where knitting gets discussed. Now includes non-LV Volunteers Wanted projects)
mightyfelix
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by mightyfelix »

So, as we know, we're all volunteers here, because we enjoy what we do here at LV, and we love providing free literature. But tell me, where else do you give your time and labor? Do you have one specific favorite place or organization you like to volunteer with, or many? How often do you do it? What kind of work is it? And most importantly, what is it about that place or group or organization that you love enough to work for them for free? :D
Elizabby

Post by Elizabby »

I'm also a volunteer music teacher for pre-schoolers. It's a short program for the kids, followed by morning tea for the kids and for the mothers! I did the same program for my daughters for about 7 years, so now I come back to help run it for the next generation!

I also teach exam skills to doctors, but that's kind of a work thing. I don't get paid for it but it's a "pay it forward" thing for all the doctors who volunteered their time and helped me pass my exams!
Availle
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by Availle »

Nah, I'm way too lazy for that - would require me to go out of the house regularly... :mrgreen:

I did give blood for a long time though. I did it so often and in so many countries that I lost track, surely more than 50 times. Then I moved to Asia, where I am not allowed to donate blood anymore, so I had to stop. I guess if I moved back to Europe, I wouldn't be allowed there anymore either. :lol:

I'd love to do it again though, for the simple and selfish reason of "I really hope there's somebody else out there doing it too, just in case I'll ever need anything..." :shock:
Cheers, Ava.
Resident witch of LibriVox, channelling
Granny Weatherwax: "I ain't Nice."

--
AvailleAudio.com
SonOfTheExiles

Post by SonOfTheExiles »