Books to study English?

Everything except LibriVox (yes, this is where knitting gets discussed. Now includes non-LV Volunteers Wanted projects)
stillwaiting

Post by stillwaiting »

Hi. My name is Boris. This is my first post on the forum :clap: , but I'm a long-time librivox user. I guess that I have listened more than 20 books already. Thank you! Thank you so much!!! :)

I adore English language and literature, but, unfortunately, I'm not a native speaker. However, I do believe that one of the best ways I could follow to understand the language better is to read, listen and repeat (after the narration) the classical books in English.

I'm a software engineer, and to tackle my problem I created an app for Android called "You can read it!", in a hope that it might be useful to other people too. This is a basic reader integrated with a dictionary and a flashcard system to study the new vocabulary (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flashcard , my users can save unknown words from books they read with their translations and the context they are used as flashcards.) And I filled it with classical books in English synchronized with their librivox narrations. (Libribox people! Thank you so much for making this possible! This would've never happened without all your hard work!) You can find the complete list of books and features here: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.borisgdev.youcanreadit

Now, the problem that I have is that all of these books have quite advanced language. My English skills allow me to read them, however, it is quite challenging to people with basic and intermediate English skills. I'd say that even "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" (the smallest book that I have) is too advanced for beginners, even though it has only ~2600 unique words.