Oh, the background noises!

Everything except LibriVox (yes, this is where knitting gets discussed. Now includes non-LV Volunteers Wanted projects)
Alitheia

Post by Alitheia »

I suppose this isn't entirely off-topic, but this seemed like the best forum thread to put my thoughts.

I'm new to Librivox, and am really loving my new hobby :) I'm learning new things every day, and one of the biggest surprises for me was (and continues to be) the sheer amount of background noises at my home. I'm pretty noise sensitive as it is, but I never realized just how much noise there is all day.

Here's just a short list of sounds that have attempted to thwart my recordings:

- Construction noise (the folks in the building across from us have been remodeling their patio/swimming pool for the past month or so, which included lots of jackhammering in the beginning, and lately they've been grinding concrete I think).
- Our fridge... I've had to resort to unplugging it for short periods of time :lol:
- Various helicopters and small aircraft
- Dogs barking outside
- Ambulance/police sirens
- The train honking on its way through town
- Our pets snoring
- And today: our fireplace flue rattling (it's a windy day).

I just found out that our neighbors are about to begin an extensive (and, no doubt, noisy) remodel of their apartment. I can't wait :roll:

Is anyone else as amused by their "surround-sound" as I am? :lol:
Alitheia

"There was enough of everything, and all of it good."
Anton Chekhov
carteki

Post by carteki »

Yep.pretty much what I have here.
Oh, remember to turn the fridge back on... We've all forgotten at some time.
Kim
SweetPea

Post by SweetPea »

For me: