Calling all macro users

Comments about LibriVox? Suggestions to improve things? News?
ChrisGreaves

Post by ChrisGreaves »

I am new to LibriVox but not to Audacity, and absolutely not new to macros. My life is macros; LibriVox is just a very rewarding pastime! :D

I am establishing a set of macro-commands in Audacity 3.1.3 and this thread is an assembly-point for LibriVox members who might want a macro written for them, might want help in writing macros in Audacity, or might be prepared to share their knowledge of macros with LibriVox members. I started work with macros in 1968/69 but only at 3:30a.m today did I learn that Audacity has macros. (There is a danger that LibriVox might lose me as a volunteer PL/R/DPL/etc. at this point :D :D :D )

What prompted me to want a macro?
I record a page of complicated text and save it to a WAV file, and after a dozen or so pages, edit all the WAV files before assembling them into a single MP3 file.

(a) I want to reduce all gaps greater than (say) two seconds down to exactly two seconds, which would reduce my recorded pauses while I mentally rehearse some German pronunciation, or work out where the next batch of commas should have been placed
(b) I want to set all gaps less than two seconds to a fixed 0.5 seconds, which would make all sentence gaps a fixed length.

This, as you can imagine, is a Boring And Repetitive Task, and cries out loud for a macro.

As does the task of making the starting silence 0.5 to 1 seconds and the ending silence 5 seconds.

Now, please excuse me while I go and read through a few topics.
Thanks
Chris Greaves
Last edited by ChrisGreaves on January 20th, 2022, 5:06 pm, edited 3 times in total.
I adopt YOUR orphaned chapters, for FREE!
knotyouraveragejo
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by knotyouraveragejo »