Sad news about my father Andy Minter

Comments about LibriVox? Suggestions to improve things? News?
dcminter

Post by dcminter »

On Tuesday night my father, Andy Minter, whose handle here was "ExEmGee" asked me to leave a note for him on these forums to say that "Andy Minter says 'Cheerio!'". At that point we thought he probably had a few more weeks left. Sadly that night he declined very rapidly and last night, Wednesday, he died.

He was not a gregarious man, but friendly and humorous. He revelled in what has come to be known as the "Dad joke" when given the opportunity and had a taste for black humour; one of his last comments to me was that I shouldn't bring him any long books to read.

By trade he was one of the early professional computer programmers; cutting his teeth on a Ferranti Pegasus and finishing his career writing bespoke PC payroll software for a handful of loyal customers. His career led to my own and so we had that point of connection amongst others.

His handle on these forums was probably a reference to the MG F roadster which I sold him when I moved abroad - and which I then bought back when I returned (hence the "ex"). My brother, seeing a gap in the market, sold him his own vintage left hand drive Fiat Spider in which my father made several tours of northern europe and which is still parked up at the family home.

I am proud of the way my father dealt with his diagnosis of pancreatic cancer. He took it in his stride, declared that as a man in his 80s his long term prospects were not looking good anyway. Once my mother was gone and he no longer had the responsibility of caring for her he accepted only those treatments which would improve his quality of life. His friends and family will miss him dreadfully.