How about computer generated voice?

Comments about LibriVox? Suggestions to improve things? News?
AnanasEmperor

Post by AnanasEmperor »

Hi everyone,
I am an old but only occasional listener of LV books. By profession I am an IT guy.

Reason for creating account is because I wanted to get feedback on forum from you guys and community about my idea to make computer read some books that no one has read yet. I believe those books would be some not so popular works. Nowadays, computer voice is not that bad as it has been few years ago and anything is better than nothing right? You could expect voice very similar to Cortana's voice in Windows 10 (I use "Microsoft Zira Desktop voice" for which I believe is free to use). I also hand edit text to some level in editor I've built to adjust it before voice generation.

So did you have this before here on LibriVox or do you already have this in game? And more importantly what do you think how much people would be interested to listen such works?

Cheers!
Carolin

Post by Carolin »

hi and welcome to librivox!

there are a lot of computer generated audiobooks online, see here for example: http://www.gutenberg.org/browse/categories/2

im not sure whether this is something for librivox though.

ill move your topic over to suggestions, comments, news, and discussion as soon as you have seen this to keep things in their proper places :)
Carolin
AnanasEmperor

Post by AnanasEmperor »

Thanks! You can move it...
tovarisch

Post by tovarisch »

I have not listened to a book read by a computer. Yet. At least to my knowledge. :)

Readings that I tend to enjoy are those in which the narrator is (at least to some degree) a "voice actor", i.e. changes the intonation (and pitch) when reading direct speech from different characters. Of course, just like any other acting, voice acting can be successful or not... Measuring the population at large by my own yardstick I do voice-act in my readings too.