Isn't the requirement PD in the U.S.?

Comments about LibriVox? Suggestions to improve things? News?
DebraLynn

Post by DebraLynn »

I've been volunteering here for 4-1/2 years, and I have seen it written repeatedly that the LV server is based in the U.S. and that the books we record must be proven to be PD here. The other day, I tried to help out a fellow volunteer who had been told to find the birth and death dates for every author of every poem and story in a collection that had been published in the U.S. in 1911. Apparently, the idea was that if any of the authors had been dead less than 75 years, their particular story might not be PD in some countries.

In over 4 hours of diligent searching on my part, I was able to come up with one set of dates, and one possible name to go with an author who used only initials instead of a name. These books can have 30-40 stories in them. Some of the authors were apparently one-hit-wonders, who only ever published that one story or poem and then were never heard from again. Imagine the number of volunteer hours that must go into trying to find them all! And these stories are in a book that is known to be PD in the U.S., therefore so are the stories contained therein.

These books are downloadable from PG by anyone in any country who has internet access. PG didn't feel it necessary to give dates for each author. The compiler's birth and death dates are given, and that is good enough for PG. When did LibriVox get so fastidious? This was the first I've heard of it.

-Confused Debbie :?
[url=http://librivox.org/newcatalog/people_public.php?peopleid=1166][b][color=violet]"Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read" (Groucho Marx)[/color][/b][/url]
TriciaG
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by TriciaG »

Honestly, it's up to the people in countries that have Life+year copyrights to self-police. We provide death dates as a courtesy.