LibriVox Video Tutorials

Comments about LibriVox? Suggestions to improve things? News?
Great Plains

Post by Great Plains »

Hi all!

One of the things I do for my day job is make video tutorials for websites. I noticed the other day that I answer a lot of the same questions over and over, and I was thinking that it might be helpful to have a handful of short (1 - 2 minute) YouTube videos that covered the basics of LibriVox and recording. It wouldn't take me long to make each of these.

Here's what I'm thinking:

Vid 1) Intro to LV, how to register, join a project
2) Download and install Audacity, LAME, record, export MP3, and upload.
3) DC offset and how to correct it
4) Background noise removal
5) Volume, input gain, normalization, and amplifying.
6) Click and pop repair

Any other vids that would be helpful? Thoughts?
Daniel, the Cylon
([url=http://librivox.org/newcatalog/people_public.php?peopleid=2136]LV Profile[/url])
Lucy_k_p

Post by Lucy_k_p »

That sounds like a very good idea.

Perhaps a 'how to upload' vid? Or put that info in with the general LV info in 1.
EDIT: I cannot read. It's obviously time for bed for me. I think you've thought of everything.

And a 'This is where the wiki is, and here is the help needed forum, if you have any more questions,' bit at the end of the vid.
So little space, so much to say.
TriciaG
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by TriciaG »

I agree - sounds like a great idea!

And please include, if you can, how to increase the mic input volume in Windows. :)

Would you/we want a video on how to add stuff to the MW, for BC's and soloists?
Last edited by TriciaG on November 18th, 2009, 5:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
School fiction: David Blaize
America Exploration: The First Four Voyages of Amerigo Vespucci
Serial novel: The Wandering Jew
Medieval England meets Civil War Americans: Centuries Apart
Julila

Post by Julila »

Sounds excellent to me!
Constructive criticism is greatly appreciated!