What's Your Time Budget for Recording?

Comments about LibriVox? Suggestions to improve things? News?
Kaffen

Post by Kaffen » June 26th, 2008, 1:50 pm

As an engineer, I just have to submit repeated actions to scrutiny to determine their efficiency! And I have discovered that it takes me 3.6 minutes to produce 1 finished minute of reading. :roll:

My time budget works out this way:

1.1x Recording, including repeats to cover mistakes
1.5 x Editing
1.0 x Noise reduction, equalizing, exporting as MP3, ID3 tagging, uploading
3.6 x Total

This total obviously excludes reading & posting in the fora, noodling around Gutenberg, and other fan-boy stuff like listening to other contributors!

I've always had a preference for 20-minute chapters; they're a tidy piece of work that're done in about an hour. My last three books have leaned towards 40-50 minute chapters; now, that's starting to feel like real work!

I often batch chapters together, but I find that Audacity sometimes locks up if I'm trying to do operations on more than one file at a time, so I can't double-up much. I used to use Roxio's Sound Editor, which had no problem with that, but it didn't noise-clean, and when I got a more recent version that did, it had other faults that threw me to Audacity.

I wish we could batch-transmit files to the server. When I used to FTP to Anita's server, I could just line 'em up and let go! The current arrangement works very well, but requires tending if you have more than one file to send.

So, what's it take for you to make a minute of PD history??! :)
- Mark

"In narrating everything is simple, but it's the simple things that are difficult." (Apologies to von Clausewitz!)
Mark's Librivoxings

Jc

Post by Jc » June 26th, 2008, 3:03 pm

I'm pretty sure there was a thread on this, but I can't seem to find it ...

It takes me about 1.5 to 2 times the time of the final recording.
Put yourself in the Readers' Accents Table. See this post.