Need help with recording level

Post your questions & get help from friendly LibriVoxers
gsscooter

Post by gsscooter »

Hello all - I'm just getting started with my VO setup and just need some advice regarding a good input level and waveform. Config info:
  • Audio Technica AT4040 condenser mic
  • Pop-screen
  • Scarlett Solo interface
  • MacBook Pro running Big Sur
  • DAW: Reaper
All the plumbing is working in terms of getting a signal successfully from the mic to the interface to Reaper. When trying to record my 1-minute test, I notice that the waveform is pretty small in height and the Checker utility reports that my mp3 volume is out of range. On the interface, I have the input gain set to around 2'o'clock and I'm speaking pretty close to the mic.

Could someone please provide some tips on what I might need to adjust?

Thanks.
lurcherlover

Post by lurcherlover »

gsscooter wrote: April 26th, 2021, 5:36 pm Hello all - I'm just getting started with my VO setup and just need some advice regarding a good input level and waveform. Config info:
  • Audio Technica AT4040 condenser mic
  • Pop-screen
  • Scarlett Solo interface
  • MacBook Pro running Big Sur
  • DAW: Reaper
All the plumbing is working in terms of getting a signal successfully from the mic to the interface to Reaper. When trying to record my 1-minute test, I notice that the waveform is pretty small in height and the Checker utility reports that my mp3 volume is out of range. On the interface, I have the input gain set to around 2'o'clock and I'm speaking pretty close to the mic.

Could someone please provide some tips on what I might need to adjust?

Thanks.