Guidelines please on submitting completed recordings (and editing on Audacity 3.0)

Post your questions & get help from friendly LibriVoxers
Happiness1

Post by Happiness1 »

Morning/afternoon/evening all

Im a newbie and I have just recorded my first project. :clap:

However, it has all the usual tongue slips, chair moving noises etc that one has. I just would like some guidelines on pre-submission please because there are just so many links and so many places to look for this information and I truly can't find it.

do I now listen to my own recording. Then, through the great frustration of the Audacity learning curve and many many online tutorial videos, edit out what I can and then submit it, or do I submit it and then someone else listens to it and tells me what to fix or fixes it (I wish).

I also find that I am having trouble with the tutorials on Audacity editing because there are so many versions. I have version three. The tutorial I watched yesterday afternoon explained how to cut out a section, record the new section and replace it. My version does not behave in the same way. Any advice on that please?

thx and have a great day.

Dawn
Rapunzelina
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by Rapunzelina »

Hi Dawn! Welcome to Librivox! Congrats on your first recording!

Editing at first is difficult but the more you record, and more comfortable you become in front of a microphone, the less you'll have to edit :D

When uploading a recording, it needs to be in what you'd consider complete state. So yes, you'll need to listen though and edit any repeats, noises, etc. Then a proof-listener will check for things you might have missed, and all this hard work will make it a sweet experience when you get the PL OK!

I haven't tried version 3 of audacity yet, so hopefully someone else can help you with editing advice. (I have added that to the thread title, to attract relevant replies)
philchenevert
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by philchenevert »