Need help with static when recording pretty please

Post your questions & get help from friendly LibriVoxers
Post Reply
ricksvoices
Posts: 20
Joined: January 31st, 2021, 7:03 pm

Post by ricksvoices » February 1st, 2021, 2:36 pm

Hello!

My name is Rick and I joined last night. I'm trying to record my 1 min test but had to stop since I'm picking up static in my recording. This happened to me yesterday and I fixed it somehow. I thought it was a button I pressed on my Mbox 2 but that's not doing it this time. After doing a little query online, I was told to restart my computer but that sadly didn't fix it. This problem is HUGE since it's stopping me from being able to record ANYTHING without hearing the static. I've exported an mp3 of this problem but don't see a way to attach it to this question. I typed "technical help" in the search bar but didn't find what I was looking for. Any suggestions?

Thank you for your time & help in advance!
Rick :help:

TriciaG
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 49768
Joined: June 15th, 2008, 10:30 pm
Location: Toronto, ON (but Minnesotan to age 32)

Post by TriciaG » February 1st, 2021, 2:44 pm

Welcome!

The 1-minute test instructions give direction on how to upload a file. When it's uploaded, you can copy/paste the link into a post. :)
We're MARCHing to the finish line! Join our project cleanup month initiative. Details HERE

ricksvoices
Posts: 20
Joined: January 31st, 2021, 7:03 pm

Post by ricksvoices » February 1st, 2021, 2:56 pm

Ok somehow, I don't have this problem at the moment Thank you GOD! (God protects the dumb lol)

ricksvoices
Posts: 20
Joined: January 31st, 2021, 7:03 pm

Post by ricksvoices » February 1st, 2021, 3:08 pm

Well...I was able to record a raw file without the static...but as I was editing, I decided to make it easier on myself and re-record. I still have the orig file saved,
but the STATIC IS BACK ugh!

KevinS
Posts: 10589
Joined: April 7th, 2019, 8:32 am
Contact:

Post by KevinS » February 1st, 2021, 3:57 pm

I don't know very much, but it seems to me that every piece of equipment and wiring you put between you and your recording program adds more and more potential for interference. Is the Mbox 2 powered separately. That is another potential source of interference. Do you have by chance a different mic with a simple USB interface?

(Haha! I sound like I know what I'm talking about.)
Not feeling well. I'll get back to work as soon as possible. My LibriVox: https://librivox.org/sections/readers/13278

ricksvoices
Posts: 20
Joined: January 31st, 2021, 7:03 pm

Post by ricksvoices » February 1st, 2021, 10:59 pm

Thanks Kevin!

Well, my Mbox 2 is actually connected via USB directly to my laptop. It comes and goes for no apparent reason. I was able to record the test without the static so that's good, and I did go ahead and purchase a replacement to the Mbox 2 which should be arriving today or tomorrow. I went for the the Focusrite Scarlett Solo USB Audio Interface (Gen 3), so hopefully that will solve my problem!

Thanks for your help! Much appreciated!

P.S. I'm using a USB mic as well (an MXL 990). I had bought all of that equipment about 15 years ago! Too bad I didn't get into this seriously back then! But, everything happens for a reason I guess.

Rapunzelina
LibriVox Admin Team
Posts: 10863
Joined: November 15th, 2011, 3:47 am

Post by Rapunzelina » February 2nd, 2021, 7:42 am

Does your laptop run on battery or is it connected to the mains power. I don't know what kind of static you are talking about, but since electricity can create sound interference, it's worth recording if possible away from other running appliances, like a fridge that starts and stops.
Your new purchase sounds good :D

JordanN
Posts: 133
Joined: April 13th, 2014, 2:18 pm

Post by JordanN » February 2nd, 2021, 7:58 am

ricksvoices wrote:
February 1st, 2021, 10:59 pm
Thanks Kevin!

Well, my Mbox 2 is actually connected via USB directly to my laptop. It comes and goes for no apparent reason. I was able to record the test without the static so that's good, and I did go ahead and purchase a replacement to the Mbox 2 which should be arriving today or tomorrow. I went for the the Focusrite Scarlett Solo USB Audio Interface (Gen 3), so hopefully that will solve my problem!

Thanks for your help! Much appreciated!

P.S. I'm using a USB mic as well (an MXL 990). I had bought all of that equipment about 15 years ago! Too bad I didn't get into this seriously back then! But, everything happens for a reason I guess.
Laptops don’t actually put out enough power on USB to reliably drive audio interfaces.

If the mbox has an external power input, use it.

Otherwise, get a powered USB hub and put it between the laptop and interface.

ricksvoices
Posts: 20
Joined: January 31st, 2021, 7:03 pm

Post by ricksvoices » February 2nd, 2021, 11:28 am

I don’t think it does. Hopefully the scarlet interface I’m getting has one.

Thanks man!

Post Reply