Any advice

Post your questions & get help from friendly LibriVoxers
reader25

Post by reader25 »

Hi, I couldn't find a similar topic so I hope making a new one is fine. I'm quite new to the field of recording so I wanted to ask for some advice.
Any tips against speaking too fast or getting nervous?
I appreciate for your help.
TriciaG
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by TriciaG »

Hmmm. I've heard of people setting a picture of a loved one next to their recording area, or a stuffed animal, then focusing on telling the story to them. :)

With any new experience, there are going to be nerves at first. Take a breath, be aware of it (and that it's not unusual), then consciously try to slow down and take your time. And the good thing about this over public speaking? If you mess up, you can simply redo it, and no one will know how bad the first version was! :lol:
Serial novel: The Wandering Jew
Medieval England meets Civil War Americans: Centuries Apart
Humor: My Lady Nicotine
philchenevert
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by philchenevert »

Yep. To slow down, take a deep breath before recording; read the sentence or phrase to yourself and mentally rehearse it. The author spent a lot of time choosing each word in that sentence and meant it to convey something. this has helped me slow down and speak the words more carefully trying to decipher and then interpret the words and emotions. Otherwise I just keep speeding up.

Nervous? I read to children in my mind. They are not critical at all. No matter they love to listen to any story. I have a few stuffed animals on my desk to remind me and to substitute for my grandchildren. Tell 'em a story and nervousness drops away and the wonder of the story takes over. At least for me.
Peruvian owls always hunt in pairs because they are inca hoots.
89 Decibels? Easy Peasy ! https://youtu.be/aSKR55RDVpk
KevinS

Post by KevinS »