delay in headphones [SOLVED]

Post your questions & get help from friendly LibriVoxers
kristineasay

Post by kristineasay »

Hello all,

I am very new to audiobook recording, I've made just one recording so far and I did it without headphones because of the delay I hear. I have watched several tutorials but nothing seems to work. I am using audacity, an interface, mic, headphones, and a laptop. Has anyone had this problem and found a good fix?

Thanks,

Kristine
DaleInTexas

Post by DaleInTexas »

Kristine,
What interface are you using and what OS on your laptop?
Dale
Dale Latham
Down on the Poor Farm
https://twitter.com/dalelatham
KevinS

Post by KevinS »

kristineasay wrote: April 18th, 2020, 2:17 pm Hello all,

I am very new to audiobook recording, I've made just one recording so far and I did it without headphones because of the delay I hear. I have watched several tutorials but nothing seems to work. I am using audacity, an interface, mic, headphones, and a laptop. Has anyone had this problem and found a good fix?

Thanks,

Kristine
I'm not quite sure of your problem, but you may be hearing a delay from your soundcard. (Whatever that means.) Try this: Check that the option Edit-Preferences-Audio IO-Software Playthrough is not ticked.
kristineasay

Post by kristineasay »

I did find a solution. I am using an HP pavilion, windows, and a scarlet interface.
My solution was rather simple, like I said, I am very new and not a bit tech savvy but this what I did. I selected the 48v button on my scarlet interface and deselected the playthrough option in the audacity preferences. That did the trick!

thank you for your feedback
KevinS

Post by KevinS »

kristineasay wrote: April 18th, 2020, 5:10 pm I did find a solution. I am using an HP pavilion, windows, and a scarlet interface.