Is this book suitable for a solo?

Post your questions & get help from friendly LibriVoxers
Steven Seitel

Post by Steven Seitel »

Hi, all...I need some advice.

I would like to do a solo recording of "The Romance of Excavation," by David Masters (Charles Edwin Brand, 1883-1965), Published London: John Lane 1923. However, I am unsure this book is in the public domain in the US, and ask your advice on whether or not to proceed. It would be my first solo.

In the UK, the copyright term appears to extend 70 years after death, so the book is probably NOT public domain there. If it had been first published in the US, it would be PD. For recording books on Librivox, what rules determine eligibility?

In short, can I record this book for LV now, or do I need to wait until 2035? :hmm:

Obviously, I'm not an expert on copyright law. If it's a dumb question, I apologize. Thank you for your help.

Steve Seitel
...and then I thought: "Oh, what the Heck? Why not?..." —W.O.B.
Steven Seitel

Post by Steven Seitel »

I forgot to mention the source image is at archive.org:

https://archive.org/details/romanceofexcavat00mastuoft/page/n7

Thanks, too, to TriciaG for the list of "Some More Obscure 1923 Books" in the Book Suggestions forum.

Steve Seitel
moniaqua

Post by moniaqua »

Steven Seitel wrote: January 8th, 2019, 8:35 pm For recording books on Librivox, what rules determine eligibility?
For LibriVox the US laws, as the servers are hosted in US. For you the laws of the country you are in. If you are in Europe, the book is still copyrighted for you. If you make a trip to US, hmm, good question. I am not a lawyer, but I suppose you could read it there :hmm:
annise
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by annise »

The laws seem to say "resident", not "citizen" so not in any way offering legal advice my understanding is as I've said.

Anne
tovarisch

Post by tovarisch »