Garage Band 10.3.2 Questions

Post your questions & get help from friendly LibriVoxers
billyp

Post by billyp »

Hi.

I'm new to Librivox and have been asked to edit my 1-Minute Test by lowering the dB to 89dB and to also record in Mono, not Stereo.

I'm also just getting familiar with the new version of Garage Band (10.3.2) and have run into obstacles completing my editing tasks. The Librivox forum Wikipedia help page for Garage Band only shows steps and screenshots from an earlier version of GB and thus I cannot answer my questions.

Here are my questions:

1) I'm being asked to present my mp3 using a decimal of 89db, but GB 10.3.2 only shows that the range runs from -infiinity dB to +6dB. How do I set the track so that the dB is correct?

2) How can I take an existing recorded track and make sure that it is recording (and recorded) in Mono (other than just seeing a single waveform in the track)? Or is that it the only way to tell?

Thanks!

billyp
annise
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by annise »

It's always been difficult to get help from GB users as most people find Audacity better for voice work - it's a while since I tried to get good instructions from users and maybe the newer versions are better, but the recurring reply I got was "Tell them to use Audacity. I started using GB and wished I'd changed earlier"
But hopefully things have changed and it is now possible to save not in stereo, just don't be disappointed if you don't get help, we still want you, and would love to help, we just may not know the answer.

Anne
schrm

Post by schrm »

what i answered and saw the last days in 1 minute tests, most people with macs use audacity, too.
some record in gb, and export the file to edit it in audacity - which is a lot of work..

what i saw in the old gb-tutorials, you have to set the correct settings in several places of gb, to get the export dialogue to acceptable results.