Can I use my phone to record?

Post your questions & get help from friendly LibriVoxers
RachelDragneel

Post by RachelDragneel »

Hey everybody I am Rachel and just signed up I would like to find out can I use my phone to record or does it have to be my computer ? Also if only computer can u recommend and recording apps I could download ? Thanks! :D
amitsharma

Post by amitsharma »

I have used a Sony PCM voice recorder without problems or complaints from the PLer. It would be similar to recording using a phone. I think if the voice is clear and comprehensible and the noise is low enough not to be a distraction then it shouldn't be a problem.

Having said that, I should also point out that I am a newbie and still figuring my way around. I'm sure one of the mods would point you in the right direction if I'm wrong.

Also, for recording on a computer, most people here use the multi-platform Audacity, it's a free audio creation and editing program and the workflow here seems to be concentrated around that.

Welcome to Librivox. :clap:

Amit
Amit Sharma, CC

"You can call me crazy, but you're just jealous that the voices don't talk to you."
tovarisch

Post by tovarisch »

RachelDragneel wrote: October 3rd, 2018, 12:48 am Hey everybody I am Rachel and just signed up I would like to find out can I use my phone to record or does it have to be my computer ? Also if only computer can u recommend and recording apps I could download ? Thanks! :D
Rachel,

This has come up (especially in the recent years) many times. And the answer is always, yes, you can record. It does not matter what device you use or what process you follow. What matters is the final result. There are technical requirements (MP3 format, mono, 128 kbps constant bitrate, volume 87-91 dB measured using 'ReplayGain' method), and there are quality requirements (see our Wiki for tips on prooflistening). Nothing in any of those specifies what device you are to use to produce the final recording.