Book Published in 1923

Post your questions & get help from friendly LibriVoxers
GodsDreamer

Post by GodsDreamer »

Hello all! I am interested in recording Emily of New Moon by L. M. Montgomery as a solo project, though I'm not quite sure yet if I'll have the time to do it, as I am a college student and will be working at a camp this summer... but anyways, my question is this: Since Emily of New Moon was published in 1923, it should come into public domain January 1st, 2019 if I understand the laws correctly. If I have the time, would I be able to start recording the book before that date, since there is no way I could finish the recording before the book becomes public domain? Thanks in advance for any advice on this!
TriciaG
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by TriciaG »

You could start recording it, but I suppose that technically that would be breaking copyright law. It depends on how law-abiding you are. :lol:

We wouldn't set up the project and you couldn't upload files and get feedback from us until January 1.

Question: Why would you need to finish recording it before January 1? There's no deadline (unless it's a self-imposed one).

P.S. Text source would be an issue. An online version might be hard to find, and whatever edition you read from would need to be clearly a 1923 version and not an edited edition that may incur a new copyright.
School fiction: David Blaize
America Exploration: The First Four Voyages of Amerigo Vespucci
Serial novel: The Wandering Jew
Medieval England meets Civil War Americans: Centuries Apart
Cori

Post by Cori »

Agreeing with Tricia throughout. There's a PG-AU version that could be used from the start of next year, I think.
There's honestly no such thing as a stupid question -- but I'm afraid I can't rule out giving a stupid answer : : To Posterity and Beyond!
GodsDreamer

Post by GodsDreamer »

TriciaG wrote: May 21st, 2018, 9:14 am