Playing with Noise Reduction And Other Effects

Post your questions & get help from friendly LibriVoxers
ScottKelley

Post by ScottKelley »

Greetings friends. Looking for some advise and/or direction on how to best reduce some background "hum" during recording. I am an Audacity novice and have been busy experimenting with the many settings and effects one can use on their audio recording. So here begins what will probably be a long-winded question.

Assuming I have a newly recorded audio, some direction given to me wast that I should immediately "normalize" the track to remove the DC offset and "normalize maximum amplitude" (mine is default set to -1.5 db). I guess my first question is, should normalizing the track be the first or last thing I do before saving? For instance, if I were to add more bass or change the noise reduction, should I do these changes before or after I normalize the track?

Second question is specifically in regards to Noise Reduction. I have a low hum when I record. My noise reduction default settings are - Noise reduction dB:12, Sensitivity: 0.00, Frequency smoothing bands:6. I have adjusted these a number of ways and have not found a setting that truly works for me. Can some folks share their Noise Reduction settings so I can try them out on my tracks?

Thanks in advance for your wisdom and guidance! :thumbs:
Scott Kelley
TriciaG
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by TriciaG »

You don't need to normalize (to -1.5 dB). Keep that box unchecked. It is a volume adjustment, which you don't need. ;)