Normalization, hard limiting, and recording volume

Post your questions & get help from friendly LibriVoxers
tanzaku

Post by tanzaku »

I'm a newbie reader, but a long-time audio (and digital audio) techie.

After I uploaded my first recording, I became concerned about audible volume. In the audio world, it is a standard procedure to "normalize" an audio file in post-production and an even better supplement to then "hard limit" the file. This tends to raise the audible volume -- acutally raising the lower level passages while not raising the full-volume ones. It is sometimes known colloquially as "compression." As a standard procedure in audio post-production, I did this to my recording before uploading it, but I am concerned that it will now sound too loud compared to the other readers.

Are there standards for Librivox recordings relative to normalization and hard limiting? Should I be concerned about this? Or, am I being too picky and should just do what I do normally?

(If you want to hear what I'm referring to, I read for Our Mutual Friend by Charles Dickens, Book 2, Chapter 10. When I compared it to the other readers, my audio seemed much louder.)
kri

Post by kri »

tanzaku wrote:I'm a newbie reader, but a long-time audio (and digital audio) techie.

After I uploaded my first recording, I became concerned about audible volume. In the audio world, it is a standard procedure to "normalize" an audio file in post-production and an even better supplement to then "hard limit" the file. This tends to raise the audible volume -- acutally raising the lower level passages while not raising the full-volume ones. It is sometimes known colloquially as "compression." As a standard procedure in audio post-production, I did this to my recording before uploading it, but I am concerned that it will now sound too loud compared to the other readers.