How to record in a 'noisy' household? Help!

Post your questions & get help from friendly LibriVoxers
love2write

Post by love2write »

Hey all, I love doing recordings for Librivox! I use a Blue Yeti on my iMac, I love this mic and its quality. I bought this mic for podcasting and recording audio for LV. As much as I love it, and I am still learning as time goes on, I have a problem and don't know how to overcome it. I have limited time on my hands for things like recording podcasts and audio for LV. Being new, I view my recording time as "the house must be completely quiet" before I can record. This is not easy, even though I am downstairs, each noise upstairs seems to be to "the recording part of myself" as thunderous explosions and I can't record during those times (I do exaggerate here - the noises are just that, noises, but the mic picks them up). Some entire evenings the mic sits alone as I don't believe that I can record with any noises going on upstairs. I know this may all sound ridiculous, but I simply can't believe that I am the only one with this 'problem.' Certainly there must be a way that I can still record, either blanking out the sounds, removing them later - or by software or hardware, keep the noises out.

Anyone out there have similar issues? How do you overcome them? I could do allot more recording if I could record even at times when others are home, I just need to know how to do this. I use:

Software - Sound Recorder
Mic - Blue Yeti
computer - iMac

Thanks for any and all suggestions!

Jerry
chocoholic
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by chocoholic »