Alternatives to Audacity

Post your questions & get help from friendly LibriVoxers
martinc

Post by martinc »

I am a newbie here and have just recorded a poem and used Audacity to edit it. Audacity was perfectly ok, but not as pretty as Sound Studio on the Mac.

Sound Studio looks a little less daunting than Audacity and I wondered if anyone has any expereience using it.

In particular I cannot find out how to enter ID3 tags which is what put me off using it for my first attempt.

Martin
GordMackenzie

Post by GordMackenzie »

Martin,

On Windows, Audacity prompts for ID3 tags when you convert/export your file as an MP3. Prior to export, the file is stored in a proprietary Audacity format which does not use ID3 tags.

I hope that helps!
Gord Mackenzie
gord[dot]mackenzie[at]gmail.com
Librivox Wiki Page: [url=http://librivox.org/wiki/moin.cgi/GordMackenzie]GordMackenzie[/url]
hugh
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by hugh »

you can also go into (i think): project/ID3 ... and edit there.
martinc

Post by martinc »

Gord and Hugh

Thanks - I have no problem with ID3 tags in Audacity, it seems to be sound studio that has no mechanism for inputting them.

If I have to resort to a second bit of software to enter the tags I might as well use Audacity from the start which works fine, but just seems a little complex for my simple needs

Martin
GordMackenzie

Post by GordMackenzie »

martinc wrote: Thanks - I have no problem with ID3 tags in Audacity, it seems to be sound studio that has no mechanism for inputting them.
LOL! Sorry about that... carry on.
Gord Mackenzie
gord[dot]mackenzie[at]gmail.com
Librivox Wiki Page: [url=http://librivox.org/wiki/moin.cgi/GordMackenzie]GordMackenzie[/url]
kri

Post by kri »