Librivox Content on CD, DVD or HDD?

Non-reading activities need your help too!
WiredRides

Post by WiredRides »

Hello, I am new to Librivox and am sort of interested in volunteering and that is what brought me to the forum.

However, I have a question regarding the content catalog. Is there a way for me to get a copy of the data, in one neat package? Or, do I have to download each file, one by one?

Thanks,

Toby
Starlite

Post by Starlite »

Well, you may have noticed that each catalogue page has a ziped file. But Yes, I believe you have to open and download each zip separately. :)
"Reasonable people adapt themselves to the world. Unreasonable
people attempt to adapt the world to themselves. All progress,
therefore, depends on unreasonable people." George Bernard Shaw
hugh
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by hugh »

ISO, CDs DVDs etc have come up a number of times ... but no one (hint) has offered to do whatever it would take to make that happen in any systematic, serious way.
featherheadfop

Post by featherheadfop »

I think a systemized CD/DVD system would be great :). I don't have a DVD burner, but I would be happy to take care of the CD end of things. We would probably have to charge about a $1 per CD fee, for shipping and CD costs.

If it's a service people are interested in, I will set up an ordering system :).

Anyone interested in sending out DVDs?
featherheadfop

Post by featherheadfop »

Also, I am not sure how much space the entire catalogue of LibriVox would occupy, but if it is something reasonable (Under, say, 50 GB) I will set up a torrent of all the files :), and try to keep it updated.
featherheadfop

Post by featherheadfop »

I think paypal has a 0.30 USD + 2% transaction fee. Postage would cost ... however much it is stamps are nowadays, 0.39 USD? (I think a CD can be shipped for only one stamp). CDs cost roughly 0.25 USD, I believe. Then paper CD sleeves would be needed, costing about 0.10 USD, I think.