new volunteer- test/audio critique

All languages: post your test recording here. Help check audio files, provide editing services, and advertise for proof-listeners.
LaurelFaye

Post by LaurelFaye » July 31st, 2019, 8:00 pm

Hi there! I'm LaurelFaye, and I'm just getting started on here. Please help me out by giving me some constructive criticism/feedback. thanks! :P
Using Audacity, Windows, & a build in mic (for now). Link is below:

https://librivox.org/uploads/tests/test_laurelfaye.mp3

cowguy02

Post by cowguy02 » August 1st, 2019, 1:43 pm

Hi there,

My name is Luke and I'll be taking over your test..

Just 2 quick things

1) Volume: We need 86-92dB with 89dB being ideal. Your at 75.1 (so close!) this is what we need to do
Select the whole file in audacity
Go to effects>amplify
Type 15 in the top box
Hit apply

(In the future you may want to turn up your microphone slider so that you don't have to do this all the time :D)

2) Noise Reduction: Next up lets reduce your noise. It was at 41 but after amplification it is at 51 (which is quite loud)
Select a small amount of your file with no talking in it
Go to effect>noise reduction
Click learn
After that go back and select the whole file
Head back over to that Noise Reduction page
Click apply

Once you do that reupload your test and I'll have another look.
~Luke Castle
Due to school I am much busier then in the summer. Please bear with me as I work through my PL backlog.

Projects that need readers
Bealby
Freckles The life of Harriot Stuart The House By The Churchyard

Dramatic Read!The Blind Brother

LaurelFaye

Post by LaurelFaye » August 1st, 2019, 2:26 pm

i appreciate your help, but i'm having trouble with the software. i think i have a different version than you do because i'm not able to follow your directions in order to fix the audio clip.