1-Minute Test by dirkx [OK]

All languages: post your test recording here. Help check audio files, provide editing services, and advertise for proof-listeners.
dirkx

Post by dirkx » April 15th, 2019, 8:59 am

Good Morning!

https://librivox.org/uploads/tests/test_dirkx.mp3

I'm using Audacity 2.3.1 running on macOS Mojave 10.14.4, recording on an iPhone 6s.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated...I realize an external mike is the way to go, but as I'm just getting started I wanted to use what I have before investing in gear.

Thank you for your time!

Brian Dirkx

lymiewithpurpose

Post by lymiewithpurpose » April 16th, 2019, 8:05 pm

Hi Brian! Thanks for submitting your test! Nice work, it passes technical specifications! There is one thing that you might want to do for a matter of pride, and that is clean up the background noise a tad. Right now it is exceptionally minimal, so very optional, but if you wanted to:
1. Select a small piece of your recording that is pure noise
2. Go into menu items Effect>Noise Reduction
3. In Section 2 on the screen, choose your settings. My settings are Noise Reduction: 12, Sensitivity: 6, Frequency: 0.
4. Select 'Get Noise Profile'.
5. Select your entire recording.
6. Go to menu items Effect>Repeat Noise Reduction.

Since this is so minimal and optional, I am pleased to give you the OK to begin recording! Have fun, and I'll see you around the forum!
Campbell
Constructive criticism always welcome

Readers wanted: The Cliff-Dwellers

dirkx

Post by dirkx » April 17th, 2019, 10:09 am

Hi Campbell,

Thanks for taking the time, and for the instruction! For the learning experience (and the pride! :D ) I cleaned up the background noise in Audacity using the settings you suggested:

https://librivox.org/uploads/tests/test_dirkxtake2.mp3