This is my 30-second test, please have a listen. :) [OK]

All languages: post your test recording here. Help check audio files, provide editing services, and advertise for proof-listeners.
Bobbin

Post by Bobbin » December 7th, 2017, 12:55 pm

Hi all, newbie here. I recorded this with Cubase 9, on Windows 10, using an analog, pro mic (StudioProject C1). I'm actually pretty sure it's OK, but maybe you guys can hear any issues that I currently don't. Would love your feedback. Thanks!
https://librivox.org/uploads/tests/test_Bobbin.mp3

Kitty
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by Kitty » December 9th, 2017, 6:49 am

hello Adair, welcome to our forum :D

actually your test reading is very nice, I loved to listen to it. It has a certain quality that I have not heard before. I cannot really say what it was, maybe a bit of an echo ? Like you were reading in a higher room or something ? In any case, it was not a bad effect, it really sounds great. I didn't mind it at all, it was only interesting in its novelty (well at least for me).

Only one technical aspect needs to be tweaked to make it LV standard:

your recording is in Stereo but we need it in Mono. Now I don't know the audioprogram you are using, so I cannot comment on how to make your recording in Mono. There must be some sort of "Settings" that you can correct to the right parametres I suppose. :hmm: If you can't find it either, you could try posting the question in the Help forum, there's probably some tech-person that knows more about this than me.

Could you please reupload this same test once you managed to make it Mono so I can have a second look ?

thank you and I hope to hear back from you soon :)

Sonia

Bobbin

Post by Bobbin » December 10th, 2017, 5:05 am

Hello Sonia! (Actually, it's Adir) :)