1 Minute test [OK]

All languages: post your test recording here. Help check audio files, provide editing services, and advertise for proof-listeners.
SPly

Post by SPly » November 15th, 2017, 9:23 am

I am a newbie, so please bear with my terrible recording.
this is my one-minute test, I had some technical issues, so I will appreciate any info you can give!
Thanks

my recording software is audacity; my pc is a windows 10; my mic is an external dock non-noise-canceling Sony

https://librivox.org/uploads/tests/test_SPly.mp3

Kitty
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by Kitty » November 15th, 2017, 9:46 am

hi Sarah, welcome to the forum. :)

don't worry, we have all started at one point, and the initial problems usually get solved and it gets easier with each recording. That said, I don't find your test file "terrible". In fact, you have a nice voice to listen to, you speak fluently, well articulated and not too fast. For me as listener, that's easy to follow, so it's a good basis for audiobook narration.

Now to the technical aspects. There we need to tweak a bit to make it up to LibriVox standard. Now don't get a shock that I write so much, but I try to be as precise as possible, since I don't know what your level of technical knowledge is. I prefer to write up more than not enough info ;)

ok here is what we need to correct still:

1) your recording is in stereo, but we need mono. I hope you are using Audacity, this is how to change it:

> go to Tracks
> select Stereo track to Mono (your two "windows" will merge into one)

2) your DC bias is quite high. Normal would be around 0, yours is at -69. Check the sliders on the left side of the window (underneath MUTE / SOLO) Are they well centered in the middle or more to one side ? That could be the reason. Try to center them. To remove the DC bias for this recording, do the following:

> highlight your recording
> go to Effect
> go to Normalize
> tick Remove DC offset and press OK