Glad To Be Here Second Go

Get to know your fellow readers and tell us a little about yourself
KinoOnik

Post by KinoOnik »

Hello everyone, I first came across LibriVox scouring the Internet a number of years ago. While I'm not certain what I was searching for, I would guess it was classic reading material for my Kindle. On the other hand, it may have been an audiobook to pass the time while driving.

I am a 56 year old, retired New York State prosecutor. At present, I am a semi-retired trial attorney. I have two children of whom I am quite proud. My daughter attends college and my son will soon be entering college as well. I joined Librivox a couple of years ago. Sadly the world had other plans for for me at the time and I got tugged away.

I have a number of hobbies but devote much of time to reading and writing.

I recall at the beginning or at the end of each LibriVox audio reading a brief announcement indicating the source of the recording and an invitation to visit LibriVox in order to volunteer.

I have enjoyed reading aloud all my life. To this day I take advantage of doing so whenever I have the chance. Rarely do I have an audience these days. As such, I have no practical reason for reading aloud other than for my own enjoyment. I have relegated the exercise to a private indulgence and read only when I am certain no one is within earshot.

I would like to volunteer as a reader for LibriVox because I would very much like to regain a practical reason for reading aloud. I hope to gain some personal enjoyment while benefiting others.

At the moment I have concerns regarding the technical elements of recording and transmitting to LibriVox but I trust there is an army of equally eager volunteers or employees able to assist with such matters.

I am looking forward to this new experience.
GraceBuchanan

Post by GraceBuchanan »