Hello!

Get to know your fellow readers and tell us a little about yourself
SandyKalmus

Post by SandyKalmus »

Hi folks,

I too am new here and so quickly already frustrated :? . I've been talking about reading for a long time. My partner bought me a microphone and that was the push I needed 8-) . Over the past week or so, I've been learning how to record and edit. I finally got an account set up and was about to choose a poem for my first project, but saw that the 1-minute test recording is highly recommended. So, I did that. AND GRRRRR.....apparently, Windows 10 and Realtek do not work nicely :twisted: , on my computer. My usb mic is recording too low. I've even deleted and reinstalled drivers. There is no way to increase the volume on the microphone. I've tried so many ways. There isn't a mixer available.

I now have two more ideas :hmm: . One is to create a sound box and the other is to try Linux. I am hoping LibriVox and Audacity work there, as I have never used Linux before. I am about done with my patience though as only 2 things in the world really stress me out, my ex, and technology when it doesn't work the first 10 times. hahaha.

I thought this would be a great outlet for my desire to work on a creative project with other people. :9: Everyone on the forums seems so nice and helpful. For now, I am still excited. :clap: And I hope I have a good enough voice for this.

Just wanted to reach out, say hi, share where I'm at, and see if I can find more patience.

Sandy :D
TanG

Post by TanG »

Hello Sandy,
I'm not an expert but I think it is necessary to know your mike model too, so please write it down and maybe someone will be able to help you.
P.S. Audacity works on Linux but installing Linux isn't as simple as Windows, so please don't rush there.
Tan.
SandyKalmus

Post by SandyKalmus »

Thank you so much. I just figured it out. In case anyone else has this problem using a usb mic with Windows 10.
With Mic plugged in go to Settings>>System>>Sound