Another new reader from the UK

Get to know your fellow readers and tell us a little about yourself
AndrewNash

Post by AndrewNash » June 21st, 2020, 5:01 am

Hallo!

I've been inspired to volunteer as a reader after enjoying some truly excellent recordings of classic works of literature on Librivox. I am a retired schoolmaster who used to teach English Literature.

I have a particular interest in the works of John Henry Newman (1801-1890) on whom I did my PhD and a couple of whose works I have edited. Apart from being the greatest theologian in the English-speaking world since the Reformation (he did for theology what Darwin later did for biology), he writes some of the most beautiful prose in the English language. But of course I love many other writers too.

I'm mainly interested in solo recording rather then collaborative ones, simply because my own preference as a listener is to hear the same voice throughout a book - though I'd be open to contributing a single poem or to an anthology of various poets.

Also, as a British listener, I think it's helpful to have more British accents among the Librivox recordings. No offence to all you excellent American readers! And I of courser always want to hear an American accent for an American work (such as the novels of Henry James, superbly read by the late Professor Nicholas Clifford). But to British ears, a work by an English writer can sometimes sound wrong read in an American accent - just as I imagine it would sound odd to hear a great American work like 'Huckleberry Finn' read by a plummy English voice! So, I humbly offer my British accent for works by British authors.

Now I must start work as a reader!

Andrew Nash, England.

philchenevert
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by philchenevert » June 22nd, 2020, 5:05 pm