Howdy Ya'll

Get to know your fellow readers and tell us a little about yourself
harrisraleigh

Post by harrisraleigh »

Hello Librivox Community!

My name is Raleigh Harris and I'm from the Washington D.C. (USA). I'm new to narration, and have just completed setting up my home "studio". In addition to Librivox, I've also just started volunteering for a site called Learning Ally. I would like to start narrating short works (poetry, short stories) and later take on bigger projects (chapters and solos). I very much look forward to meeting and working with you all.

Thanks!

Raleigh Harris
Respectfully,

Leigh Adams
Washington D.C., USA
msfry

Post by msfry »

Well, Howdy back, Raleigh. Your approach, starting with short pieces, is the very plan we recommend for newbies. Being a book stitching program that attracts volunteers from all around the world (none of whom know each other) to help create over 12,000 audiobooks so far, there are naturally some procedures you will need to follow. They aren't hard to learn and quickly become habit, so just pay attention to the instructions in your Welcome Letter, submit your 1 minute test to ensure your tech specs are set right, then peruse the Readers Wanted forums (Board Index in menu above) carefully for a project that interests you. Read the First Post carefully, as instructions vary somewhat per project. The MW (Magic Window) will show you what sections are Open. I suggest before you make a claim, go to the online text you propose to read to make sure it is something that interests you, and if it does hit Reply Post to ask the BC (Book Coordinator) for that section. Wait for acceptance before you start recording or you may find someone else has beat you to the claim. Most of us have had to eat a recording or two because we couldn't contain our enthusiasm long enough to wait! Keep in mind that along with recording goes editing, and there are plenty of tips on how to do that.