Signing up

Get to know your fellow readers and tell us a little about yourself
LucyK

Post by LucyK » January 15th, 2016, 4:07 am

Hello,

I'm Lucy, I've just signed up to volunteer for Librivox as a reader. I'm British living in France and I've been listening to a number of Librivox recordings in the last year or two - I knit a lot, but regret the loss of reading time while doing so, I love classic literature and being read to, and enjoy discovering new things generally. I've often thought, I could do that...

My voice is a bit crackly but my reading skills are quite fluent and competent, I think. I've been a teacher, once of small children then of English as a second language. Now I've got more time on my hands. I have a husband and a blog, I used to have a dog but not at the moment.

I'm quite excited about doing this, I've just ordered a USB mic! Looking forward to making some friends here...

kathrinee
LibriVox Admin Team

Post by kathrinee » January 15th, 2016, 9:48 am

Welcome to Librivox, Lucy, we are glad to have you! I hope you have lots of fun here and find this to be a worthwhile activity :D Please don't hesitate to ask if you have questions. I am a fellow-knitter and I hear you about knitting while listening to audiobooks :thumbs:
Kathrine

JenniferFour

Post by JenniferFour » January 15th, 2016, 6:43 pm

Another knitter and audiobook listener...well, at least for the easy parts :lol:
Critical feedback is ALWAYS welcome - in the forum or via PM

LucyK

Post by LucyK » January 16th, 2016, 12:27 am

Thanks fellow knitters! Yes, Jennifer, can't really count and listen very well!

I've already seen a couple of 'Readers wanted' projects I think I'd like. I'm still a bit hesitant :? :roll: about using the software, but I'll watch some of the videos about Audacity till the mic comes then jump in.

JenniferFour

Post by JenniferFour » January 16th, 2016, 4:34 am